Joy Orbison: still slipping vol. 1: CD

still slipping vol. 1: CD

Joy Orbison

  • US$14.99
    Delivery from US$5.90

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 13 August 2021
  • In Stock
CD Album
XL Recordings

‘still slipping vol.1’ is the debut full length project from Joy Orbison. Fans of Joy O’s DJ sets and radio shows will already be aware of his diverse tastes and inspirations, represented here through a roll call of delicately curated, mainly UK, collaborators that include Herron, James Massiah, Bathe, Léa Sen, Goya Gumbani and TYSON.

Just as important are the voices of Joy Orbison's family - mum, dad, sister Sarah, uncle Frankie, uncle Keith (recently departed), auntie Helen and cousins Lola and Mia, as well as Leighann, who was the first person to introduce him to drum and bass and garage as a kid and stars on the mixtape’s cover art.

They appear throughout the record via a series of voice notes, his only contact with his family during this year of worldwide lockdown and an intimate, vicarious glimpse into the personal world of an artist who has generally side-stepped the public gaze.

1 w/ dad & frankie  
2 sparko (feat. Herron)  
3 swag w/ kav (feat. James Massiah & Bathe)  
4 better (feat. Léa Sen)  
5 bernard?  
6 runnersz  
7 rraine (feat. Edna)  
8 glorious amateurs  
9 s gets jaded  
10 froth sipping  
11 layer 6  
12 in drink  
13 playground (feat. Goya Gumbani)  
14 born slipping (feat. TYSON)  

More from Joy Orbison

Joy Orbison: still slipping vol. 1: Vinyl LP
Joy Orbison
still slipping vol. 1: Vinyl LP
Vinyl LP
Sorry Sold Out