Nails: You Will Never Be One Of Us

You Will Never Be One Of Us


  • US $16.99  

  • Release Date 17 June 2016
  • In Stock
Product code
Vinyl LP
Nuclear Blast

You Will Never Be One Of Us says it all, really. The album title for Nails’ third full-length (and first for Nuclear Blast) is directly pointed at bandwagoners and sycophants, two types of people frontman Todd Jones has very little patience for. “You Will Never Be One Of Us is a title about people who try to latch onto something you’ve been doing and dedicated yourself to and making a mockery out of it.”

Jones’ disdain is palpable. But it funnels perfectly into Nails’ caustic, take-no-prisoners music. Across the two full-lengths the Californians have parlayed their influences into a ruthless, no compromise explosion of sound, where speed and groove fight for supremacy. The group could be labeled grindcore. Tracks like the 23-second missile “Cry Wolf” or the wickedly short “Your God” live the values of the genre. But that’s not all that’s on offer, however. “Suum Cuique” and the gritty new 8-minute “They Come Crawling Back” show a side of the band willing to elongate the heavy and the sick into a force that bridges classic death and sludge metal.

And wait until people hear You Will Never Be One Of Us. It’s a veritable blast of awesomeness. From the opening title track to mid-album bomb “Violence Is Forever” to the epic closer “They Come Crawling Back,” You Will Never Be One Of Us is an evolutionary step for Nails, expertly produced by Kurt Ballou.

If Nails impressed before, fans are sure to revel in You Will Never Be One Of Us. Spanning an epic 21 minutes—Nails’ longest yet—the quartet’s new full-length is a masterpiece in riotous violence.


Side A
1. You Will Never Be One Of Us
2. Friend To All
3. Made To Make You Fall
4. Life Is A Death Sentence
5. Violence Is Forever
Side B
1. Savage Intolerance
2. In Pain
3. Parasite
4. Into Quietus
5. They Come Crawling Back