Emma-Jean Thackray: Yellow: CD

Yellow: CD

Emma-Jean Thackray

  • US$14.99
    Delivery from US$6.10

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 23 July 2021
  • In Stock
CD Album
The debut album by Emma-Jean Thackray feels exactly like the sort of thing we’ve been longing for over the last 12 months: a transcendent, human, shared experience. Across its 49 minutes, Yellow draws glowing lines between ‘70s jazz fusion and P-Funk, the cosmic invocations of Sun Ra and Alice Coltrane, and the gorgeous orchestration of the Beach Boys.

“I wanted the whole thing to sound like a psychedelic trip,” explains Thackray. “You put on the first track, it takes you through this intense experience for almost an hour, and then you emerge on the other side transformed.” The result is an album that speaks the language of positivity, as rich lyrically as it is musically. You might best understand what Thackray does through reference to auteur figures like Brian Wilson or Madlib, who straddle instrumentation, arrangement and production in order to bring the sound in their head to fruition.

1 Mercury  
2 Say Something  
3 About That  
4 Venus  
5 Green Funk  
6 Third Eye  
7 May There Be Peace  
8 Sun  
9 Golden Green  
10 Spectre  
11 Rahu & Ketu  
12 Yellow  
13 Our People  
14 Mercury (In Retrograde)  

More from Emma-Jean Thackray

Emma-Jean Thackray: Yellow: Black Vinyl 2LP
Emma-Jean Thackray
Yellow: Black Vinyl 2LP
Double Vinyl LP
In Stock
Emma-Jean Thackray: Yellow: Exclusive Blue Vinyl 2LP + Signed Poster
Emma-Jean Thackray
Yellow: Exclusive Blue Vinyl 2LP + Signed Poster
Double Vinyl LP
In Stock