Childhood: Universal High

Universal High


  • US $13.99  

  • Release Date 21 July 2017
  • Dispatched within 5 days
Product code
CD Album
Marathon Artists

Recorded at Maze Studios, Atlanta across the summer of 2016 where the band decamped for a month, it was produced by the legendary Ben H Allen III (Gnarls Barkley, Animal Collective, Deerhunter) who struck up quite the creative partnership with ringleader Ben Romans-Hopscraft. You could be forgiven for branding ‘Universal High’ a rebirth.

In places almost unrecognizable from the dub-charged psychedelic indie of their debut, the new sound swells from the southern streets in which it came to life, caked in the Seventies soul of The Isley Brothers, Curtis Mayfield and Shuggie Otis.

Ben Romans-Hopcraft says, “’Universal High’ represents many things to us as a band. It signifies change, both musically and mentally whilst also revisiting influences that confounded our interest in music in the first place. What I think is noticeable is the direct nature of the songs and its influences. Being surrounded by soul music, classic pop songs and music with any form of groove all my life, these influences began to speak for themselves within these new songs we were writing”.

Since the first album Bens evolved into something of an auteur, with numerous collaborations under his belt as both a producer, recurrently alongside new regular comrade Sean Lennon, as well as numerous teamings with Fat White Family’s Saul Aamczeski as part of both Warmduscher and Insecure Men.

This product is also available in the following formats
1 A.M.D.  
2 Californian Light  
3 Cameo  
4 Too Old For My Tears  
5 Melody Says  
6 Universal High  
7 Understanding  
8 Don't Have Me Back  
9 Nothing Ever Seems Right  
10 Monitor  

More products from Childhood