Algiers: The Underside Of Power

The Underside Of Power


  • US $13.99  

  • Release Date 23 June 2017
  • Dispatched within 5 days
Product code
CD Album

Matador Records is excited to announce Algiers’ second album, The Underside Of Power, that will be released on June 23. The Henry Busby-directed video for the simultaneously incendiary and infectious Suicide-meets-Temptations first single and title track ‘The Underside Of Power’ can be viewed here.

Recorded largely in Bristol and produced by Adrian Utley (Portishead) and Ali Chant, mixed by Randall Dunn (Sunn O)))), with post-production by Ben Greenberg (The Men, Hubble, Uniform), touchstones on the uncompromising and impassioned album run from Southern rap to Northern soul, gospel to IDM, industrial to grime to italo. More pertinent than ever before, The Underside Of Power follows Algiers’ 2015 eponymous debut which received praise from the NY Times, Pitchfork, The Quietus and others. The record touches on oppression, police brutality, dystopia, and hegemonic power structures. Its fiery lyrics encompass TS Eliot, the Old Testament, The New Jim Crow, Tamir Rice and Hannah Arendt, while carried by soulful and visceral songs, meditative moments and personal reflection.

1 Walk Like A Panther  
2 Cry Of The Martyrs  
3 The Underside Of Power  
4 Death March  
5 A Murmur. A Sign.  
6 Mme Rieux  
7 Cleveland  
8 Animals  
9 Plague Years  
10 A Hymn For An Average Man  
11 Bury Me Standing  
12 The Cycle/The Spiral: Time to Go Down Slowly