Caleb Landry Jones: The Mother Stone: Limited Edition Baby Blue Vinyl

The Mother Stone: Limited Edition Baby Blue Vinyl

Caleb Landry Jones

  • US$33.99
    Delivery from US$12.09

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 29 May 2020
  • In Stock
Vinyl LP
Sacred Bones
“I think most of it takes place in dreams,” Caleb Landry Jones says of his debut solo album, The Mother Stone. “I’m talking more about dreams than I am about what’s happened in the physical realm. Or I’m talking about both, and you’re not sure what’s what.”

Caleb Landry Jones was born in Garland, Texas in 1989 and comes from a long line of fiddle players. Three, maybe four generations back, on his mother’s side. His grandfather wrote jingles for commercials, his mother was a singer-songwriter who taught piano lessons in the house, and his father was a contractor who did a lot of work for the Dallas music-equipment retailer Brook Mays and knew a guy if you needed a bass or a banjo. But Jones is not sure if you can hear any of this in his music and he does not play the fiddle.

Jones has been writing and recording music since age 16, around the same time he started acting professionally. Played in a band called Robert Jones for a minute, lost his guitar player to higher education, moved into his own place, and broke up with somebody, at which point the songs really started coming hard and fast.

“I started playing guitar and playing more keys,” he says, “and then started writing record after record after record after record, because I didn’t know what to do with myself. It was a good way of healing. And it felt like as soon as I started doing it, it felt like it needed to happen all the time.”

In the ensuing years he’d spend a lot of time carrying unrecorded songs around in his head like goldfish in a bag, waiting for a chance to record them in marathon sessions in his parents’ barn. “You gotta play the songs every day, or every two or three days, to keep ‘em,” he says. “Otherwise I forget them.” Sometimes the ideas fuse together, one chapter to the next; this is how songs grow into sevenplus-minute epics like the ones on The Mother Stone. His back catalog is around seven hundred songs deep— a whole discography of full albums, most of them unheard outside the barn, at least for now.

1 Flag Day / The Mother Stone (7:33)  
2 You’re so Wonderfull (7:59)  
3 I Dig Your Dog (4:12)  
4 Katya (4:20)  
5 All I Am in You / The Big Worm (3:25)  
6 No Where’s Where Nothing’s Died (2:17)  
7 Licking the Days (6:04)  
8 For the Longest Time (4:42)  
9 The Hodge-Podge Porridge Poke (2:15)  
10 I Want to Love You (5:23)  
11 The Great I Am (2:10)  
12 Lullabbey (2:46)  
13 No Where’s Where Nothing’s Died (A Marvelous Pain) (2:53)  
14 Thanks for Staying (6:28)  
15 Little Planet Pig (2:53)  

More from Caleb Landry Jones

Caleb Landry Jones: The Mother Stone
Caleb Landry Jones
The Mother Stone
CD Album
Buy Now: Dispatched in 7-10 days
Caleb Landry Jones: The Mother Stone
Caleb Landry Jones
The Mother Stone
Vinyl LP
Buy Now: Dispatched in 7-10 days