Swans: The Great Annihilator: Remastered

The Great Annihilator: Remastered


  • US$10.99
    Delivery from US$6.28

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 05 May 2017
  • Sorry Sold Out
Double CD Album

SWANS have announced a remastered reissue of their ninth studio album, The Great Annihilator on Mute.

The Great Annihilator, originally released in 1995 and described at the time as “…a majestic symphony of haunting melodies and shifting moods” [SF Bay Guardian], will be released on double vinyl and as a 3CD set. Both the vinyl (in the form of a download code) and CD will feature Drainland, Michael Gira’s debut solo album recorded at the same time as The Great Annihilator.

The album was entirely remastered by Doug Henderson, but only after Bill Rieflin (“honorary Swan“a revelation of great sonic effect”. Talking about the recording, Gira said “I lived in a tent in a mosquito infested studio right next to Cabrini Green in Chicago for what (?) something like 3 months, rarely leaving. Band members and Jarboe and Bill Rieflin etc came and went, and somehow we crafted this thing into what it became.”

The Great Annihilator line up features: Michael Gira, Jarboe, Bill Rieflin, Algis

CD 1
1. In
2. I Am The Sun
3. She Lives
4. Celebrity Lifestyle
5. Mother_Father
6. Blood Promise
7. Mind/Body/Light/Sound
8. My Buried Child
9. Warm
10. Alcohol The Seed
11. Killing For Company
12. Mother's Milk
13. Where Does A Body End?
14. Telepathy
15. The Great Annihilator
16. Out
17. I Am The Sun (Live At The Flesh Club

CD 3
1. You See Through Me
2. Where Does Your Body Begin?
3. I See Them All Lined Up
4. Unreal
5. Fan Letter
6. Your Naked Body
7. Low Life Form
8. If You…
9. Why I Ate My Wife
10. Blind

More from Swans

Swans: To Be Kind (Deluxe CD + DVD)
To Be Kind (Deluxe CD + DVD)
In Stock
Swans: The Glowing Man
The Glowing Man
In Stock
Swans: Die Tür Ist Zu
Die Tür Ist Zu
Double Vinyl LP
Sorry Sold Out
Swans: Leaving Meaning
Leaving Meaning
Double CD Album
In Stock
Swans: Leaving Meaning
Leaving Meaning
Double Vinyl LP
In Stock
Swans: Soundtracks For The Blind: 4LP
Soundtracks For The Blind: 4LP
Quadruple Vinyl LP
Buy Now: Dispatched in 7-10 days