Metronomy: The English Riviera: 10th Anniversary Edition

The English Riviera: 10th Anniversary Edition


  • US$36.99
    Delivery from US$12.59

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 30 April 2021
  • Sorry Sold Out
Double Vinyl LP
2x 180 G Black Vinyl, Limited Numbered Edition (7500 Copies for the World). Gatefold with embossing on the frontcover. A & B Sides: The Original Album. C Side “Outtakes”: 6 previously unreleased songs. D Side: Etched design

Metronomy’s career-changing album The English Riviera is turning ten years old.

To celebrate, the band are re-issuing their much-loved album with six previously unreleased bonus tracks available for fans to stream and buy on 30th April 2021 via Because Music. The reissue will be available on limited edition and numbered heavyweight 180g vinyl with etched fantascope on side D. To mark the announcement, the Joseph Mount-fronted indie pop collective today have shared previously unheard bonus track ‘Picking Up For You’, listen now.

Of the anniversary, Joe says “My first apartment in Paris had an almost comically perfect view of Montmartre and the Sacré-Cœur Basilica. In the shadow of the Sacré Coeur, with Barbès and the hill of Montmartre as a backdrop, I sat idly one day and wrote what would become one of Metronomy’s most popular songs.

I was tinkering around with one of Marion’s keyboards and after a short while came up with the bit that gets stuck in your head; the der-de-der-der bit. I played around with it a little, hit a wall and thought ‘it’s not really Metronomy, is it’. Four months later, we finished recording The Look at the Smokehouse in London. We quite liked it, but that was about it. Then I distinctly remember the journalist Dave Simpson asking me about the song after we performed it for the first time at the Leeds Cockpit in January 2011. That was probably the moment I realised it had something about it.

I still don’t know precisely what that something is, but when we perform The Look live and I hear thousands of people chanting the bit that gets stuck in your head back at me, der-de-der-der, it often brings a tear to my eye. It really is amazing what that seaside song and this whole album has done for Metronomy.”

A love letter to the stretch of coast a stone's throw from where Joe grew up, The English Riviera marked a breakout moment in the band’s history that would lead them to global success and see them constantly developing their sound for a decade to come. The band are currently working on what will be their seventh album, due for release next year.

Metronomy’s biggest album to date, The English Riviera was nominated for the Mercury Prize, is certified Gold in the UK and platinum in France, and upon release was met with wide scale critical acclaim: ranked as NME’s #2 album of the year (“a deep sea of ideas and imagination”), NYLON’s #2, Uncut’s #3, Mixmag’s #4, and #7 by The Guardian (“an assured, beguiling album”) among many other end of year lists. The English Riviera’s standout tracks ‘The Look’ and ‘The Bay’ remain Metronomy’s biggest and best recognised songs to date.
Disc 1
1 Track 1 The English Riviera  
2 Track 2 We Broke Free  
3 Track 3 Everything Goes My Way  
4 Track 4 The Look  
5 Track 5 She Wants  
6 Track 6 Trouble  
7 Track 7 The Bay  
8 Track 8 Loving Arm  
9 Track 9 Corinne  
10 Track 10 Some Written  
11 Track 11 Love Underlined  
Disc 2
1 Track 1 Aquarius  
2 Track 2 Picking Up for You  
3 Track 3 French Organ  
4 Track 4 Friends  
5 Track 5 The Ballad of the 17 Year Old  
6 Track 6 Jazz Odyssey  

More from Metronomy

Metronomy: Metronomy Forever
Metronomy Forever
CD Album
In Stock
Metronomy: Metronomy Forever: Limited Deluxe Edition Transparent Green and Orange Vinyl with Signed Print
Metronomy Forever: Limited Deluxe Edition Transparent Green and Orange Vinyl with Signed Print
Triple Vinyl LP
Sorry Sold Out
Metronomy: Small World: Black Vinyl LP
Small World: Black Vinyl LP
Vinyl LP
In Stock
Metronomy: Small World: CD
Small World: CD
CD Album
In Stock
Metronomy: Small World: Limited Edition Transparent Vinyl LP + Signed print
Small World: Limited Edition Transparent Vinyl LP + Signed print
In Stock