Death: The 4th Movement

The 4th Movement


  • US$24.99
    Delivery from US$10.63

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 22 June 2018
  • In Stock
Vinyl LP
Drag City

There is life after Death after all - and just like you’ve heard, it hinges on accepting You-Know-Who as your lord and saviour.

1980: it was the dawn of a new age. Built on the broken backs and bodies of those who had hoped and dreamed for a better world, the 80s made it clear: that world wasn’t coming. A generation and more plunged into the abyss. But what of Death?

The Hackney brothers were no different from anybody else - in the heat and tumult of the 1970s they’d seen that new world coming. They’d raised their voices righteously, transforming with outrage and hunger their all-in-the-family power-trio Rock Funk Fire Express into the legends called Death. The combination of Bobby and Dannis’ pile-driving rhythm, older brother David’s hard-rock guitar leads and an effervescent combination of lyrical angst, missionary zeal and vision-spirit were an unknown hybrid on the African-American side of Detroit in the mid-70s - and everywhere else, for that matter. These were the sounds the world knows today as ‘For The Whole World To See’ - but at the time the brothers managed only to self-release two songs on a basically undistributed 7” record, which caused no label anywhere to express any interest in a record deal for the band called Death. Stung by the indifference, they reconsidered their position. The three corners of their personal cosmic triangle hadn’t been enough to realize their Death ambitions. It was time for The 4th Movement.

Recorded in their new home base of Burlington, Vermont and released by the group on their own Tryangle Records imprint, ‘The 4th Movement’ was destined for private-press notoriety in the world that was coming. But in the world in which the Hackney brothers were striving to be heard, The 4th Movement was the second seismic rumbling of Death. The 4th Movement LP was followed by several years of gigs, a single and a second self-released album. After all the time spent on both bands, the love revolution appeared farther away than ever, so David called it quits and returned to Detroit, taking with him the wild dreamer’s visions that had been so central to their direction. Bobby and Dannis stayed in Burlington and put down roots, starting families and forming Lambsbread, developing a local fanbase for whom they played regularly, until Death came calling again in 2009. The records that they’d made all those years ago had drifted first into obscurity and then into high-priced collector’s notoriety - an equally obscure destination.

1 Revelation’s Eve  
2 Always At Your Door  
3 The Christ In You  
4 Seeking the Life That’s To Be  
5 The Build Up  
6 You’ll Never Go Wrong  
7 He Even Reigns Today  
8 Don’t You Think Your Life Is Worth It?  
9 Life Without End  
10 Key to Paradise  
11 Love and Music  
12 Jesus (Please Come)