Malik Djoudi: Tempéraments


Malik Djoudi

  • US $13.99  

  • Release Date 22 March 2019
  • Dispatched within 5 days
Product code
CD Album
Cinq 7

It promises to be one of early 2019's most anticipated French albums. Having shot to fame in 2017 with his first solo album, simply named ""Un"" (One), featuring popular hits Sous Garantie and Cinéma, Malik Djoudi is now ready with the sequel, intriguingly entitled ""Tempéraments"". This Poitiers-born artist, with his strong personality and innate charisma, brings us eleven new songs that are at once instinctive and ambitious, hypnotic and exhilarating, informed and unburdened. Three years ago, following a journey of discovery to Vietnam, his mother's homeland, the singer and self-taught musician imagined a conditional future, writing eight songs in French that met with critical and public success. Thanks to this record, initially self-produced then released on the label Cinq7 (Dominique A, Katerine, Bertrand Belin), Malik Djoudi played more and more gigs, and performed at some of France's most prominent festivals (Nuits de Fourvière, Francofolies, Pete The Monkey, MIDI Festival, Biarritz en été, Rock en Seine, Coconut Festival, and more).

Whether than resting on his laurels, Malik Djoudi has decided to keep going with a second album simultaneously with a marathon tour. Last summer this self-taught singer and musician ended up finding refuge in the studio of sought-after producer Ash Workman (Metronomy, Christine And The Queens, Baxter Dury), with the artistic support of Amaury Ranger (Frànçois & The Atlas Mountains). In his quest for an electro, synthetic pop sound, this time Malik Djoudi has decided to do things differently (or ""autrement"" to paraphrase the title of the album's second track), having written, composed and produced Un on his own. ""My first album seems almost alien to me. I just wouldn't be able to make it that way again now. On the new one, I started with a completely blank page, before shifting my focus to British/American culture…"

Unconsciously inspired - whether by Connan Mockasin's guitar or James Blake's synth sounds - Malik Djoudi composes on the guitar and the keyboard, without distinction. Chords, melodies and harmonies are the driving force for his creations. ""I take my work very seriously. Since signing with Cinq7 in spring 2017, I have been essentially living out a childhood fantasy. The way I see it, a song is like a painting: every detail counts. I can spend six months trying to find the right three words that are missing from some song lyrics. The music, the lyrics, the breathing and the placement of the instruments are just as important."" He is meticulous, obsessive and demanding, spending long nights perfecting his art. Tempéraments shines with melodic brilliance, daring arrangements, androgynous vocals and profound lyrics. Certain stanzas resonate immediately: ""I laze in blue jeans"" (Tempérament) ""To feel different, like when I was twenty"" (Autrement); ""Marry the night to reach new heights"" (Épouser la nuit); ""I can adapt, accept, but I don't like August"" (Belles sueurs); ""Sweet madness squared"" (Folie douce). His lyrics are largely autobiographical, expressing dreams of carelessness and sentimental destiny.

Split into two very different sides and produced by the man himself, Tempéraments skilfully mixes up tones (the languid ballad Dis-moi qu’t’y penses) and atmospheres (the jerky electro of Belles Sueurs), moods (the contemplative beach Histoires d’autres) and colours (the unstoppable pop song Aussi Jolie and its celestial choirs, and À Tes Côtés, an extraordinary, transgenerational duet with Etienne Daho, mixed by Philippe Zdar).

Known for his interest in synaesthesia, Malik Djoudi sees this second album as the colour red, whereas the previous one was blue. It's a colourful explanation that preserves a certain amount of mystery. ""I don't want to have to explain everything; the songs need to keep a sense of magic and, in a way, they don't really belong to me anymore. I am both the conductor and the outlet. It's the same on stage: I let go."" On France's dynamic music scene, talented musicians are no strangers to collaboration, with Malik Djoudi sharing mutual affinities with Étienne Daho, Frànçois & The Atlas Mountains, Adrien Soleiman (guest on saxophone for Dis-moi qu’t’y penses), Flavien Berger, Voyou and Ojard (Maxime Daoud's band, another guest on the album, playing bass). As a leading figure in French-speaking pop, with this new album Malik Djoudi affirms his wonderful uniqueness, his emotional magnetism and his extraordinary voice, marking himself out as an important singer of our time.

  1. Tempérament
  2. Autrement
  3. Epouser la nuit
  4. Dis-moi qu't'y penses
  5. Essentiel
  6. Belles sueurs
  7. Histoires d'autres
  8. A tes côtés (En duo avec Etienne Daho)
  9. Aussi jolie
  10. Folie douce
  11. Au jour le jour
  12. Train de nuit