Stephanie Mills: Tantalizingly Hot: Expanded Version

Tantalizingly Hot: Expanded Version

Stephanie Mills

  • US $10.99  

  • Release Date 01 June 2015
  • Dispatched within 5 days
Product code
CD Album

Caroline Records (in association with SoulMusic Records) is proud to present the 2015 reissue of TANTALIZINGLY HOT, the 1982 best-selling album by R&B/pop chartmaker Stephanie Mills, appearing for the first time as an original album worldwide on CD.

Following a late ‘70s successful run at 20th Century Records when the New York-born singer and actress (known for her award-winning role as Dorothy in the Broadway musical, ‘The Wiz’) established herself as a Grammy-winning recording artist, Stephanie signed with Casablanca Records in 1982. For TANTALIZINGLY HOT, her debut album for the label, she continued her association with the production and writing team of James Mtume & Reggie Lucas who had masterminded her string of hit singles (“Whatcha Gonna Do With My Lovin,’” “Never Knew Love Like This Before,” “Sweet Sensation,” “Put Your Body In It”) and albums between 1979-1981.

In addition to production by Mtume-Lucas, the eight-track LP (which reached #10 on Billboard’s R&B Albums chart and #48 on the Top 200 Albums listings) included “Last Night” (#14 on the R&B Singles chart) as well as two cuts produced and written by the legendary team of Nick Ashford & Valerie Simpson – “Keep Away Girls” which emerged as the set’s primary hit (#13, R&B Singles) and a cover of “I Can’t Give Back The Love I Feel For You,” a song that had been previously recorded by Syreeta and Diana Ross among others.

For the first time, Stephanie herself produced one track, “‘Ole Love” and the album featured a stellar cast of top musicians including Funkadelic guitarist Bernie Worrell, Earth Wind & Fire guitarist Al McKay, New York super session players Marcus Miller (bass), Richard Tee (keyboards), drummers Howard King and Yogi Horton and an all-star cast of background singers including Fonzi Thornton, Tawatha Agee, Ullanda McCullough, Norma Jean Wright and Brenda White among others.

The album’s third single, “You Can’t Run Away From My Love” (penned by Mtume & Lucas) gave Stephanie a Top 20 Dance Music hit and this 2015 expanded edition includes a seven-minute-plus mix of that track along with “Wailin,’” a non-album cut, released as the ‘B’ side of “Last Night.”

With remastering by Alan Wilson, artwork by Roger Williams and notes by renowned U.S. writer Justin Kantor, this 2015 expanded edition of TANTALIZINGLY HOT serves as a showcase for the soulful artistry of Stephanie Mills, a consistently popular performer in the U.S. now celebrating over four decades as a recording artist.


1. Last Night
2. Still Lovin' You
3. Keep Away Girls
4. You Can't Run From My Love
5. True Love Don't Come Easy
6. 'Ole Love
7. Your Love Is Always New
8. I Can't Give Back The Love I Feel For You
9. Wailin'
10. You Can't Run From My Love