Ben Chatwin: Staccato Signals

Staccato Signals

Ben Chatwin

  • US$13.99
    Delivery from US$6.10

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 06 July 2018
  • Buy Now: Dispatched in 7-10 days
CD Album
Village Green

Working from The Vennel, his home studio in South Queensferry, Scotland, composer and producer Ben Chatwin creates a musical language permeated with an ambiguity, or tension, between the electronic and acoustic worlds. More than just a meeting of the two, what emerges is a daring, vivid and emotionally-charged music unshackled from a traditional sense of structure and genre.

Following ‘The Sleeper Awakes’ (2015) and ‘Heat & Entropy’ (2016),‘Staccato Signals’ is Ben’s third album under his own name. Released through Village Green Recordings, it’s a bolder and more ambitious record than anything he has written before, largely the result of relinquishing different levels of control over the musical process. It’s an album which smoulders with an almost aggressive darkness, yet one that is laced with melodic glimmers of light.

The constant pull between the acoustic and the electronic - man versus machine - and the agile production Ben utilised to maintain their balance, is what gives ‘Staccato Signals’ its powerful and beguiling character. For Ben this came to reflect the relationship humans have both to nature and technology and the control we try to enact over our environment. Due to his breathtaking surroundings of the Firth of Forth and the North Sea, a major oil and gas reservoir and his hometown of South Queensferry - a historic site of witch executions - interconnected themes of oil, fire and burning burrowed their way deep into Ben’s psyche while writing ‘Staccato Signals’, surfacing within the textures of his music.

Throughout the album mournful strings are engulfed by harsh, all-encompassing synths, while disorienting climaxes of blazing electronics recall the deafening loudness of an inferno. Yet while the jagged, synthesized textures that needle the album together might call to mind such devastating imagery, the acoustic instruments that feature.

1 Divers In The Water  
2 Silver Pit  
3 Helix  
4 Fossils  
5 Knots  
6 Substrates  
7 Claws  
8 Hound Point  
9 Bow Shock  
10 Black Castle  

More from Ben Chatwin

Ben Chatwin: Staccato Signals
Ben Chatwin
Staccato Signals
Vinyl LP
Buy Now: Dispatched in 7-10 days