Kwes: Songs For Midi

Songs For Midi


  • US$17.99
    Delivery from US$10.63

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 06 April 2018
  • Buy Now: Dispatched in 7-10 days
Vinyl LP

Five years after the release of his debut album ‘Ilp’, kwes. is back with a new mini album, ‘Songs For Midi’.

Since the release of ‘Ilp’, kwes. has been writing, producing and playing with a whole host of artists, including Bobby Womack, NAO, Solange and Loyle Carner and mixed labelmate Kelela’s debut album ‘Take Me Apart’.

The release marks a desire to get back to making music for himself with a freedom and almost painterly looseness to his sounds and composition, showing a producer just enjoying himself. It demonstrates how kwes. has matured musically in the past half a decade, rather than be influenced by other musicians and producers he takes note from people, places and instances that surround him.

The mini album is an ode to his two year old niece Midi; it’s an opus about childhood discoveries and the excitement a child feels in the ordinary and mundanity of everyday life, an uplifting comment on the effervescence of youth. Midi also designed the cover with a little help from Uncle Kwes. Perhaps the youngest ever designer in Warp’s near three decade history.

Each track on the release builds upon sounds, including the gentle tick tock on ‘Blox/Connorto’ and the flourishing extensive synth lines and crescendos on ‘Midori’, which call to mind the fragility of Arthur Russell’s ‘World Of Echo’.

1 Midori  
2 Trike  
3 Ungry/Milk  
4 99flake  
5 Hometime  
6 Blox/Connorto