Ramones: Road To Ruin: (40th Anniversary Deluxe Edition)

Road To Ruin: (40th Anniversary Deluxe Edition)


  • US $64.99  

  • Release Date 21 September 2018
  • In Stock
Product code
Vinyl Box Set

The Ramones released the band’s fourth studio album, Road To Ruin, 40 years ago this September. Dee Dee, Joey, and Johnny were joined for the first time by drummer Marky Ramone, who replaced founding member Tommy Ramone, who’d left to do more producing and writing for the band. It was also the album that introduced a nation of pinheads to the all-time Ramones’ classic “I Wanna Be Sedated.” To celebrate the milestone, the band will release two versions on September 21st, a day before the anniversary of the album’s original release on September 22, 1978 - a 3CD/1LP 40th Anniversary Deluxe Edition and a newly remastered 1CD version of the original album.

The first disc of the Road To Ruin: 40th Anniversary Deluxe Edition features a remastered version of the original stereo mix for Road To Ruin and a new 2018 40th Anniversary Road Revisited mix created by Stasium, who strips off the original record’s commercial gloss and restores the album to its punk rock core. Stasium’s new mix is also featured on the 180-gram LP that accompanies this deluxe edition.

The second disc offers up over twenty unreleased recordings, including rough mixes for every album track, starkly different alternate takes of two songs, and two unreleased outtakes: “I Walk Out” and “S.L.U.G.” – unfinished during the original recording sessions in 1978, and completed by Stasium for this anniversary release. Other highlights include three different versions of “I Wanna Be Sedated,” including the “Ramones-on-45-Mega-Mix!” released in 1988 as part of the campaign for the Ramones Mania compilation, as well as acoustic versions of “Questioningly,” “Needles And Pins,” and “Don’t Come Close.”

The final disc has a previously unreleased recording of the band’s entire 1979 New Year’s Eve concert, which was mixed live by Stasium, and broadcast on WNEW-FM. Recorded in New York City at The Palladium, with audio sourced from Tommy Ramone’s original cassette of the console recording, it features blistering performances of “Blitzkrieg Bop,” “Rockaway Beach,” and “Sheena Is A Punk Rocker,” along with several songs from Road To Ruin: “I Don’t Want You,” “I Wanna Be Sedated,” and “I Wanted Everything.”

Disc One
Original Mix Remastered

1. “I Just Want To Have Something To Do”
2. “I Wanted Everything”
3. “Don’t Come Close”
4. “I Don’t Want You”
5. “Needles And Pins”
6. “I’m Against It”
7. “I Wanna Be Sedated”
8. “Go Mental”
9. “Questioningly”
10. “She’s The One”
11. “Bad Brain”
12. “It’s A Long Way Back”
40th Anniversary Road Revisited Mix
13. “I Just Want To Have Something To Do”
14. “I Wanted Everything”
15. “Don’t Come Close”
16. “I Don’t Want You”
17. “Needles And Pins”
18. “I’m Against It”
19. “I Wanna Be Sedated”
20. “Go Mental”
21. “Questioningly”
22. “She’s The One”
23. “Bad Brain”
24. “It’s A Long Way Back”

Disc Two
Rough Mixes & 40th Anniversary Extras

1. “I Walk Out” (2018 Mix) *
2. “S.L.U.G.” (2018 Mix) *
3. “Don’t Come Close” (Single Mix)
4. “Needles And Pins” (Single Mix)
5. “I Just Want To Have Something To Do” (Basic Rough Mix) *
6. “I Don’t Want You” (Basic Rough Mix) *
7. “I’m Against It” (Basic Rough Mix) *
8. “It’s A Long Way Back” (Basic Rough Mix) *
9. “I Walk Out” (Basic Rough Mix) *
10. “Bad Brain” (Basic Rough Mix) *
11. “Needles And Pins” (Basic Rough Mix) *
12. “I Wanna Be Sedated” Take 2 (Basic Rough Mix) *
13. “I Wanted Everything” (Basic Rough Mix) *
14. “Go Mental” (Basic Rough Mix) *
15. “She’s The One” (Basic Rough Mix) *
16. “Questioningly” Take 2 (Basic Rough Mix) *
17. “S.L.U.G.” (Basic Rough Mix) *
18. “Don’t Come Close” (Basic Rough Mix) *
19. “I Wanna Be Sedated” (Backing Track) *
20. “I Don’t Want You” (Brit Pop Mix) *
21. “Questioningly” (Acoustic Version) *
22. “Needles And Pins” (Acoustic Version) *
23. “Don’t Come Close” (Acoustic Version) *
24. “I Wanna Be Sedated” (“Ramones-On-45 Mega-Mix!”)

Disc Three
Live At The Palladium, New York, NY, December 31 1979

1. “Blitzkrieg Bop” *
2. “Teenage Lobotomy” *
3. “Rockaway Beach” *
4. “I Don’t Want You” *
5. “Go Mental” *
6. “Gimme Gimme Shock Treatment” *
7. “I Wanna Be Sedated” *
8. “I Just Want To Have Something To Do” *
9. “She’s The One” *
10. “This Ain’t Havana” *
11. “I’m Against It” *
12. “Sheena Is A Punk Rocker” *
13. “Havana Affair” *
14. “Commando” *
15. “Needles And Pins” *
16. “I Wanna Be Your Boyfriend” *
17. “Surfin’ Bird” *
18. “Cretin Hop” *
19. “All The Way” *
20. “Judy Is A Punk” *
21. “California Sun” *
22. “I Don’t Wanna Walk Around With You” *
23. “Today Your Love, Tomorrow The World” *
24. “Pinhead” *
25. “Do You Wanna Dance?” *
26. “Suzy Is A Headbanger” *
27. “Let’s Dance” *
28. “Chinese Rock” *
29. “Beat On The Brat” *
30. “We’re A Happy Family” *
31. “Bad Brain” *
32. “I Wanted Everything” *

* previously unreleased

LP1 - 40th Anniversary Road Revisited Mix
Side One

1. “I Just Want To Have Something To Do”
2. “I Wanted Everything”
3. “Don’t Come Close”
4. “I Don’t Want You”
5. “Needles And Pins”
6. “I’m Against It”

Side Two
1. “I Wanna Be Sedated”
2. “Go Mental”
3. “Questioningly”
4. “She’s The One”
5. “Bad Brain”
6. “It’s A Long Way Back”

More products from Ramones

Ramones: Leave Home: 40th Anniversary Deluxe Edition
Leave Home: 40th Anniversary Deluxe Edition
Vinyl Box Set
US $62.99
Dispatched within 5 days