The Magnetic Fields: Quickies


The Magnetic Fields

  • US$16.99
    Delivery from US$5.36

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 29 May 2020
  • In Stock
CD Album
‘An incomparable lyricist capable of balancing arch wit with painfully acute observation.’ – Guardian

Nonesuch Records releases the Magnetic Fields’ Quickies, a CD album that features twenty-eight new short songs by Stephin Merritt, ranging in length from thirteen seconds to two minutes and thirty-five seconds.

Merritt explains his thinking behind the Quickies concept: “I’ve been reading a lot of very short fiction, and I enjoyed writing 101 Two-Letter Words, the poetry book about the shortest words you can use in Scrabble. And I’ve been listening to a lot of French baroque harpsichord music. Harpsichord doesn’t lend itself to languor. So I’ve been thinking about one instrument at a time, playing for about a minute or so and then stopping, and I’ve been thinking of narratives that are only a few lines long. Also, I had been using a lot of small notebooks, so when I reach the bottom of the page, I’ve only gone a short way. Now that I’m working on a different album, I’m enforcing a large notebook rule so that I don’t do Quickies twice in a row.”

Quickies features Merritt and other Magnetic Fields band members Sam Davol, Claudia Gonson, Shirley Simms, and John Woo. They are joined by longtime friends and collaborators Chris Ewen, Daniel Handler, and Pinky Weitzman.

To date, Stephin Merritt has written and recorded twelve Magnetic Fields albums, including the beloved 69 Love Songs and the 2017 critically acclaimed Nonesuch box set, 50 Song Memoir, which chronicled the first fifty years of the songwriter’s life with one song per year. New York magazine called the box set ‘a celebration of Merritt’s sky-high range as a writer and a player, through the exploration of the circumstances that helped cultivate it … a delightful flip through the untold back pages of one of rock’s most singular voices, and, all in all, the best damned Magnetic Fields album in the last ten years.’ Merritt has also composed original music and lyrics for several music theatre pieces, including an off-Broadway stage musical of Neil Gaiman’s novel Coraline, for which he received an Obie Award. In 2014, Merritt composed songs and background music for the first musical episode of public radio’s This American Life. Stephin Merritt also releases albums under the band names the 6ths, the Gothic Archies, and Future Bible Heroes.

1 Castles of America  
2 The Biggest Tits in History  
3 The Day the Politicians Died  
4 Castle Down a Dirt Road  
5 Bathroom Quickie  
6 My Stupid Boyfriend  
7 Love Gone Wrong  
8 Favorite Bar  
9 Kill a Man a Week  
10 Kraftwerk in a Blackout  
11 When She Plays the Toy Piano  
12 Death Pact (Let's Make A)  
13 I’ve Got a Date With Jesus  
14 Come, Life, Shaker Life!  
15 (I Want to Join A) Biker Gang  
16 Rock 'n' Roll Guy  
17 You've Got a Friend in Beelzebub  
18 Let's Get Drunk Again (And Get Divorced)  
19 The Best Cup of Coffee in Tennessee  
20 When the Brat Upstairs Got a Drum Kit  
21 The Price You Pay  
22 The Boy in the Corner  
23 Song of the Ant  
24 I Wish I Had Fangs and a Tail  
25 Evil Rhythm  
26 She Says Hello  
27 The Little Robot Girl  
28 I Wish I Were a Prostitute Again  

More from The Magnetic Fields

The Magnetic Fields: The House Of Tomorrow: Etched Black Vinyl EP
The Magnetic Fields
The House Of Tomorrow: Etched Black Vinyl EP
Vinyl LP
Buy Now: Dispatched in 7-10 days