John Matthias: Pretoria Remixed

Pretoria Remixed

John Matthias, Jay Auborn

  • US$18.99
    Delivery from US$9.14

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 02 March 2018
  • In Stock
12" Vinyl
Village Green

The sweeping sonic explorations of ‘Pretoria’, from John Matthias and Jay Auborn’s 2017 album ‘Race To Zero’, are reinterpreted on this four-track remix EP.

Recent Village Green signing Moon Gangs takes the reins first, delivering a thunderous take on the original’s faster-paced second half. Typically of the artist, the track builds and builds in intensity,climaxing with evocative, layered synths.

Bristol’s CUTS strip back the elements for a much darker reworking. A single, repeating piano note echoes into open space alongside the original’s violins before clattering percussion and synths enter the mix for the most foreboding turn of the release.

Closing the EP, John Cummings, formerly of Mogwai, also bases his reinterpretation around the original’s piano. Where CUTS leans on moody darkness, Cummings’ take is more upbeat, courtesy of a driving four to the floor kick and fidgety, high-pitched piano.

1 Pretoria (Original Mix)  
2 Pretoria (Moon Gangs Remix)  
3 Pretoria (CUTS Remix)  
4 Pretoria (John Cummings)