Grateful Dead: Portland Memorial Coliseum, Portland, Or, 5/19/74

Portland Memorial Coliseum, Portland, Or, 5/19/74

Grateful Dead

  • US $114.99  

  • Release Date 07 September 2018
  • Dispatched within 5 days
Product code
Vinyl Box Set

During the Grateful Dead’s legendary 30-year run, the band often visited its northern neighbours in Portland, Seattle, and less-than-often Vancouver. Even so, official live recordings from those cities are something of a rarity.

The complete Portland Memorial Coliseum concert from 5/19/74 will be released across six 180g vinyl. During the period when the shows were recorded, the Grateful Dead included: Jerry Garcia, Donna Jean Godchaux, Keith Godchaux, Bill Kreutzmann, Phil Lesh and Bob Weir.

The 1974 shows were recorded just a few weeks before the band released its seventh studio album, From The Mars Hotel. The band once again took the opportunity to preview songs from its upcoming album, such as “U.S. Blues,” Loose Lucy,” “Money Money,” and “Ship of Fools.” Another song from the album – “Scarlet Begonias” – was played on its own, three years before it would be linked with “Fire On The Mountain” in 1977.

In addition to mixing newer and older songs, the band also included a performance of the entire “Weather Report Suite.” Soon after these shows, the song’s “Prelude” and “Part I” were dropped for good, leaving behind only the final third of the composition, “Let It Grow,” which would continue to be part of the band’s live shows until 1995.

The show was mastered in HDCD from the original master tapes by Jeffrey Norman at Mockingbird Mastering. The transfers from the masters were transferred and restored by Plangent Processes, further ensuring that this is the best, most authentic that this show has ever sounded.

Side A
1 Mississippi Half-Step Uptown Toodeloo  
2 Mexicali Blues  
3 Big Railroad Blues  
4 Black-Throated Wind  
Side B
1 Scarlet Begonias  
2 Beat It On Down The Line  
3 Tennessee Jed  
4 Me And Bobby McGee  
Side C
1 Sugaree  
2 Jack Straw  
3 It Must Have Been The Roses  
4 El Paso  
5 Side D  
6 Loose Lucy  
7 Money Money  
Side E
1 China Cat Sunflower  
2 I Know You Rider  
Side F
1 Promised Land  
2 Bertha  
3 Greatest Story Ever Told  
4 Ship Of Fools  
Side G
1 Weather Report Suite (Prelude/Part I/Part II – Let It Grow)  
Side H
1 Wharf Rat  
2 Big River  
Side I
1 Peggy-O  
Side J
1 Truckin’  
2 Jam  
Side K
1 Not Fade Away  
2 Goin’ Down The Road Feeling Bad  
3 One More Saturday Night  
Side L
1 U.S. Blues  

More products from Grateful Dead

Grateful Dead: Pacific Northwest ’73-’74: Believe It If You Need It
Grateful Dead
Pacific Northwest ’73-’74: Believe It If You Need It
CD Box Set
US $21.99
Dispatched within 5 days
Grateful Dead: AOXOMOXOA: 50th Anniversary Picture Disc
Grateful Dead
AOXOMOXOA: 50th Anniversary Picture Disc
Vinyl LP
US $35.99
In Stock
Grateful Dead: AOXOMOXOA: Deluxe 50th Anniversary Digipack
Grateful Dead
AOXOMOXOA: Deluxe 50th Anniversary Digipack
Double CD Album
US $21.99
In Stock