Jeremy Tuplin: Pink Mirror: Limited Edition Vinyl

Pink Mirror: Limited Edition Vinyl

Jeremy Tuplin

  • US$21.99
    Delivery from US$10.63

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 05 April 2019
  • Sorry Sold Out
Vinyl LP
Trapped Animal

Black Vinyl with DL is limited to 200 copies. Featuring the glorious artwork painted by Jeremy Tuplin himself. The sleeve features the singer's own exceptional psychedelic paintings front and reverse.

“Tuplin's songs are more like plays or a novel... He projects sweeping stories and worlds and tackles conventional subjects with a fresh perspective.” Music Musings & Such

“Hints of Leonard Cohen and Bill Callahan… Stunningly candid.” The Telegraph Culture

Tuplin describes ‘Pink Mirror’ as a “jovial sojourn through some of human nature's so-called dark sides. It's a satirical look at representations of love, desire, vanity, society, the internet and more in the modern world. For Tuplin, the pink mirror represents the rose-tinted spectacles through which we often view our world and/or our own places within it. The album was recorded at Marketstall Recording Studio in South Bermondsey with Mark Estall, the sound-engineer and co-producer who worked on Tuplin’s acclaimed first album, ‘I Dreamt I Was An Astronaut’. Clash Music described ‘I Dreamt I Was An Astronaut’ as a “cosmic gem”; Tom Robinson of BBC 6 Music called it “unconventional, conversational and intimate”.

Tuplin was subsequently compared to such legends as Leonard Cohen, Bill Callahan, Nick Drake and ‘Space Oddity’-era Bowie. Boomtown Fair music festival hailed him as “one of the founding fathers of the lesser known genre of space-folk.” ‘Pink Mirror’ brings it all back to earth, adding soundscapes and swells – and more guitar. During this year’s record-breaking summer, Tuplin released one-off track ‘Long Hot Summer’ to raise money for Friends of the Earth. Through this he caught the attention of independent label Trapped Animal Records as an exciting artist with a social conscience. Album teaser track ‘Just Cos Ur Handsome’ was made available as a limited-edition free download through Bandcamp received radio play from Amazing Radio. The track was described by ComeHereFloyd blog as “what you want in a drizzly life that needs a dose of bright sunshine of reality.” First single ‘Bad Lover’, released in November 2018, went down a storm, thanks no doubt to the accompanying video of Tuplin performing with a backing band of ironically-yawning hipsters. For The Rabbits said of the track, “Jaunty guitars, group backing vocals so wonderful the Ronettes would be proud of them, and rolling basslines; it’s Jeremy Tuplin sure, but as we’ve never seen him before.” The track went on to top many a Spotify playlist and video round-up, with Americana UK writing that it was “ridiculously catchy, has great lyrics and a fun video to accompany it.” Some of Tuplin’s favourite album tracks are ‘Can We Be Strangers’, ‘The Machine’ and ‘The Beast’, as they are more autobiographical; they are in contrast to the sharp social commentary of some of the other tracks. Tuplin painted the album artwork himself – a cheery rose-tinted image on the front cover and something altogether darker on the reverse.

1 Can We Be Strangers  
2 Bad Lover  
3 Just Cos Ur Handsome  
4 Gaia  
5 Pandora’s Box  
6 Pink Mirror  
7 The Machine  
8 Love’s Penitentiary  
9 Frankenstein  
10 Break Up  
11 Humans  
12 The Beast  

More from Jeremy Tuplin

Jeremy Tuplin: Happiness EP: Signed Exclusive Stencil-Sprayed CD
Jeremy Tuplin
Happiness EP: Signed Exclusive Stencil-Sprayed CD
CD Album
In Stock