TANKARD: One Foot In The Grave

One Foot In The Grave


  • US$15.99
    Delivery from US$6.87

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 02 June 2017
  • In Stock
Double CD Album
Nuclear Blast

In 1982, when four longhaired metal maniacs from Frankfurt am Main in Germany decided to found a band named Tankard, nobody expected them to still be going three decades later, not to mention to be at the top of the German thrash metal scene. Today, when the routine of breaking-up, making a ‘reunion’ and disappearing again seems to be the order of play for bands, Tankard hold their flag of thrash metal high. This is why the founders of ‘Alcoholic Metal’ can now celebrate their 35th anniversary in 2017 with their 17th studio album entitled ‘One Foot In The Grave’.

Despite their humour, one should never underestimate the musical proficiency of Tankard. The band who have kept on releasing powerful albums has achieved the title of ‘cult’ band with all time-classics like ‘(Empty) Tankard’, ‘The Morning After’ and ‘Chemical Invasion’.

Sold out club shows, tours in South America and Asia, performances at the biggest metal festivals of the world (Wacken, Hellfest, Graspop, Summer Breeze), as well as their recent chart entries, perfectly illustrate their popularity. Tankard’s sound is still full of creativity, freshness and aggressiveness. Songs like ‘Syrian Nightmare’, ‘Arena Of The True Lies’ or the title track ‘One Foot In The Grave’ continue their run of classics. This time the album is also going to have a serious streak; not only filled with humour but criticising today’s society. Even the traditional beer song ‘Secret Order 1516’ displays some critical elements. Fans of the typical Tankard humour won’t be disappointed though. With songs like ‘Sole Grinder’ the band haven’t forgotten their raison d'être. This song pays tribute to the band’s manager Buffo Schnädelbach in an ironic way.

For the first time they’ve recorded an album in the Gernhard Studios in Troisdorf, Germany. With producer Martin Buchwalter (Destruction, Suidakra), the band have developed a new powerful sound. The bass is grooving, the drums are hammering and the voice of Gerre sounds more angry and full of energy than ever before. This complex album will take many people by surprise.

Even if a lot has changed over the last three decades, one thing has remained the same: Tankard are four metal maniacs from Frankfurt. Authentic, loud and sometimes drunk and this will likely stay the same for the next 35 years.

One Foot In The Grave
1 Pay To Pray  
2 Arena Of The True Lies  
3 Don’t Bullshit Us!  
4 One Foot In The Grave  
5 Syrian Nightmare  
6 Northern Crown (Lament Of The Undead King)  
7 Lock ‘Em Up!  
8 The Evil That Men Display  
9 Secret Order 1516  
10 Sole Grinder  
‘Live At Rock Hard Festival 2016’
1 Zombie Attack  
2 The Morning After  
3 Fooled By Your Guts  
4 Rapid Fire  
5 Rules For Fools  
6 R.I.B. (Rest In Beer)  
7 Metal To Metal  
8 Not One Day Dead  
9 Chemical Invasion  
10 A Girl Called Cerveza  
11 Rectifier  
12 (Empty) Tankard  

More from TANKARD

In Stock
TANKARD: R.I.B.: Limited Edition Gatefold
R.I.B.: Limited Edition Gatefold
Vinyl LP
Buy Now: Dispatched in 7-10 days
TANKARD: One Foot In The Grave
One Foot In The Grave
CD Album
In Stock