Rae & Christian: MERCURY RISING


Rae & Christian

  • US $21.99
    Delivery from US $9.69

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 01 October 2011
  • In Stock
Double Vinyl LP
Late Night Tales

‘Mercury Rising’ is the third studio album to be released by Rae & Christian. The duo weave together exceptional musicianship paired with a British song writing sensibility and the finest elements of studio production. ‘Mercury Rising’ was created at producer/musician Steve Christian’s studio in Yorkshire with additional recording at songwriter/vocalist/DJ Mark Rae’s London base. In London a song writing bond was formed with Ed Harcourt and Gita Langley who make excellent contributions with vocals, songs, strings and keys. Sam Genders of Diagrams threads a story of redemption lost on the Ubahn on ‘1975’, Kate Rogers is on imperious form and rising star Jake Emlyn unravels a whole new level of microphone skills on ‘Favourite Game’.

The international guests include the one-and-only Jazzy Jeff and Australia’s Agent 86 dealing out world class scratch treatments on ‘Check The Technique’ (Tony D's vocals taken from a session recorded at the birth of Grand Central Records), Brooklyn rapper Masta Ace and Mark Foster of Foster The People, a collaboration born from Mark’s L.A. excursion.

‘Mercury Rising’ is the first new material in many years from R&C. Their 1998 Mercury Music Prize nominated debut ‘Northern Sulphuric Soul’ ("Vitally fresh and timelessly classic…deserving a place alongside Massive Attack's Blue Lines” Uncut) and 2002’s ‘Sleepwalking’ ("Another triumph, brimming with soulful, languid grooves, deft samples and well-chosen guest singers” Q Magazine) were both released on their Grand Central Records label (Aim, Riton, Boca 45, Only Child), a defining imprint of the late 90s soul/funk/hip-hop/beats scene. Guest vocalists over the two albums included Bobby Womack, Texas, The Congos, The Pharcyde, The Jungle Brothes and Jeru The Damaja.

1 Happy - Featuring Mark Foster  
2 Check the Technique – Featuring Tony D, Jazzy Jeff, Agent 86  
3 1975 - Featuring Diagrams  
4 Still Here - Featuring Gita Langley  
5 Travis  
6 Dancr - Featuring Mel Uye Parker  
7 The Ballad of Roza Shanina – Featuring Ed Harcourt  
8 Still life Freefall – Featuring Kate Rogers  
9 A2B – Featuring Mystro, Masta Ace and Pete Simpson  
10 Favourite Game – featuring Jake Emlyn  
11 Sweethome  
12 Mercury Rising