Sir Douglas Quintet: Live From Austin, TX

Live From Austin, TX

Sir Douglas Quintet

  • US$26.99
    Delivery from US$9.12

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 13 April 2018
  • Buy Now: Dispatched in 7-10 days
Double Vinyl LP
New West Records

In this show from January 21, 1981, Doug Sahm (AKA Sir Doug) reunites with original band members Augie Meyers and Johnny Perez, along with the legendary Alvin Crow on guitar and Speedy Sparks on bass for a no-holds-barred, ripsnortin’ Texas rock ‘n’ roll revival.

Back in the day, the Sir Douglas Quintet were Texas’s answer to the British Invasion. With the arrival of The Beatles, Sir Doug and company saw their chance to break out the rough, Chicanoinfluenced rock they had been playing in the joints around San Antonio. They donned English-looking suits and hit the charts with ‘She’s About A Mover’ in 1965. Nobody was quite sure where they came from, but they rode the English-pop wave to fame.

Side A
1 Mendocino  
2 96 Tears  
3 Rains Came  
4 Down On The Border  
5 It Was Fun While It Lasted  
6 I Keep Wishing For You  
Side B
1 Groover’s Paradise  
2 Goin’ Down To Mexico  
3 Who Were You Thinkin’ Of?  
4 Who’ll Be The Next In Line?  
5 Tonite, Tonite  
6 Old Habits Die Hard  
Side C
1 At The Crossroads  
2 (Is Anybody Goin’ To) San Antone  
3 Ya No Llores / Chicano  
4 You’re Gonna Miss Me  
5 She’s About A Mover