Doug Sahm: Live From Austin, TX

Live From Austin, TX

Doug Sahm

  • US$26.99
    Delivery from US$9.12

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 13 April 2018
  • Buy Now: Dispatched in 7-10 days
Double Vinyl LP
New West Records

Doug Sahm AKA Sir Doug was a Texas rock & roll legend and pioneer. True, there were others before him (Buddy Holly and Roy Orbison come to mind) but the Sir Douglas Quintet counterattacked the British invasion of the mid 1960’s with their own brand of Chicano-influenced rock that they had been playing around their hometown of San Antonio. Wearing their tight-fitting, English-looking suits, they hit the charts with ‘She’s About A Mover’ in 1965, riding the waves with Doug’s incessant guitar twangs and Augie Meyer’s much-imitated, two-to-a-beat Vox electric organ chords.

This performance, recorded October 14, 1975, came after Doug had temporarily retired the Sir Douglas name but features original member Meyer along with musical compadres Martin Steitle, John Barber, Steve McDaniels and Harry Hess. All the Sir Douglas Quintet classics are here, including ‘She’s About A Mover’, ‘Mendocino’ and ‘Rains Came’ and Doug ventures into other musical territory ranging from T-Bone Walker to Bob Wills.

Pressed on vinyl for the first time.

Gatefold double LP on 180g vinyl.

1 (Is Anybody Goin’ To) San Antone  
2 Cotton Eyed Joe  
3 Rains Came  
4 Papa Ain’t Salty  
5 Stormy Monday  
6 At The Crossroads  
7 Nuevo Laredo  
8 Dynamite Woman  
9 Medley: Crazy Baby; One Night; Sometimes; Wasted Days & Wasted Nights  
10 Mendocino  
11 It’s Gonna Be Easy  
12 She’s About A Mover