Bonobo: Late Night Tales: Bonobo

Late Night Tales: Bonobo


  • US $10.99
    Delivery from US $3.00

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 17 October 2013
  • In Stock
CD Album
Late Night Tales

Late Night Tales and Bonobo were pretty much made for each other, it just took them a while to both realise it. Stepping forward into the compiler’s spotlight for the 33rd edition is Simon Green – aka Bonobo – a musician, producer and DJ perfectly suited to soundtrack an evening spent reclining to some parallel beats. Six albums to the good (‘The North Borders’ released earlier in 2013), Green has been on a winning streak since 2010’s breakthrough ‘Black Sands’, which has now sold in excess of 160,000 copies. His music has aided the sales of Citroen cars and Olay creams, as well as soothing the puzzlement of Lost. Wrapped in delicately programmed drums, Green’s music is at once both sombre and reassuring. If what comes out the other end is the music of Bonobo, then this is the fuel that keeps the engine running: soul, jazz, classical, pop, funk, leftfield, rock. Pianos and brass are abundantly present. Our ivories are warmed and tickled by the classic, Bill Evans, and new school, with Matthew Bourne’s mournfully beautiful ‘Juliet’ and Dustin O’Halloran’s ‘An Ending A Beginning’. The brass section comes courtesy of Menehan Street Band’s jazzy ‘The Traitor’, ‘Flipside’ by the Hypnotic Brass Band. Also included is YouTube sensation ‘One Thing’ by Peter & Kerry, R&S signing Airhead, jazz harpist Dorothy Ashby and the timeless soul of Dorando’s ‘Didn’t I’. Not only that, but there’s Bonobo’s special LateNightTales cover version, a brilliant reading of Donovan’s ‘Get Thy Bearings’. As the light dims, the unsettling sounds of Lapalux or maybe even Shlomo pierce the misty evening air, before giving way to the ethereal splendour of Eddi Front’s ‘Gigantic’ or even Nina Simone’s paean to an imagined rural idyll ‘Baltimore’. Amble down to the riverside. It could be the Great Ouse, as willows weep into the water; it could even be in Brooklyn overlooking the Lower East Side, as the sun slides down the sides of the skyscrapers. Take a notepad for inspiration. Maybe even a hipflask for a slug of something warm. Sit down and reflect and let those beautiful pianos skim the water’s surface. Sometimes, you think, life is good. You can’t play a symphony alone, it takes an orchestra to play it: Simon Green is your conductor.

CD (mixed tracks includes unmixed tracks as download)
1 Dustin O'Halloran - An Ending, A Beginning  
2 Khruang Bin -A Calf is Born in Winter (Unreleased)  
3 Bonobo - Get Thy Bearings (Exclusive Donovan cover version) (Unreleased)  
4 Dorando - Didnt I  
5 Nina Simone - Baltimore  
6 Hypnotic Brass Ensemble - Flipside  
7 Menahan Street Band - The Traitor  
8 Andrew Ashong - Flowers  
9 Romare -Down The Line  
10 Shlohmo - Places  
11 Lapalux - Gutter Glitter  
12 The Invisible - Wing (floating points mix)  
13 Badbadnotgood - Hedron  
14 Matthew Bourne -: IIV. Juliet  
15 Airhead - South Congress  
16 Matthew Halsall - Sailing Out To Sea  
17 Dorothy Ashby - Essence of Sapphire  
18 Peter and Kerry - One Thing (Unreleased)  
19 Eddi Front - Gigantic  
20 Bill Evans - Peace Piece  
21 Benedict Cumberbatch - Flat Of Angles Part 3 (Exclusive Spoken Word Piece) (Unreleased)  

More from Bonobo

Bonobo: Migration
CD Album
US $13.99
Buy Now: Dispatched in 7-10 days