Tino Contreras: La Noche De Los Dioses LP

La Noche De Los Dioses LP

Tino Contreras

  • US$24.99
    Delivery from US$8.30

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 23 October 2020
  • Buy Now: Dispatched in 7-10 days
Vinyl LP
Brownswood Recordings
From Mexico’s most established and prolific jazz musician, Brownswood Recordings is proud to present the new album from Tino Contreras, ‘La Noche de los Dioses’. Here, Tino Contreras presents a sonic gift; a kaleidoscope of evolving and shifting spiritual rumination about life and humanity. His new work features seven new recordings, contemporary jazz themes liquiscing with 3/4 rhythms, written and recorded in Mexico City, 2020.

This album is fresh - reinforcing the need to recognise, research and acknowledge the voices of the past as they still electrify us out of the numbing routine of the present, elegantly propelling us forward. Born in 1924 in Chihuahua, in Northwest Mexico, to a family of musicians, Contreras kicked off his fascination with the drum kit as a very young child. He was surrounded by music, raised by his father who led the OK Jazz Band orchestra, which inspired Tino to move to Ciudad Juárez where he formed his own orchestra. You could find Tino sharing stages with the likes of Dave Brubeck, Art Blakey, Louis Armonstrong and many more greats, experiences that have led Contreras to conjure up many a hypnotic track fuelled by an erudite, flawless rhythm section and unyielding brass and bass.

1 A1. La Noche De Los Dioses  
2 A2. Máscaras Blues  
3 A3. Naboró  
4 A4. Malinche  
5 B1. El Sacrificio  
6 B2. Al Amanecer  
7 B3. Niña Yahel  

More from Tino Contreras

Tino Contreras: La Noche De Los Dioses CD
Tino Contreras
La Noche De Los Dioses CD
CD Album
In Stock