Mick Harvey: Intoxicated Man / Pink Elephants

Intoxicated Man / Pink Elephants

Mick Harvey

  • US$21.99
    Delivery from US$12.52

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 04 August 2014
  • Sorry Sold Out
Double Vinyl LP
Number of Discs

Mick Harvey is set to release a double vinyl collection of his two Serge Gainsbourg albums, Intoxicated Man and Pink Elephants, on Mute on 7 April 2014.

Intoxicated Man (1995) and Pink Elephants (1997) are Mick Harvey’s interpretations of the songs of legendary singer, songwriter and poet Serge Gainsbourg and are the first major works translating Gainsbourg’s influential work from French to English.

Originally Harvey embarked on the project as a result of his own curiousity about the songs and particularly the lyrics. At the time of the original recordings Gainsbourg was little known outside classic works such as Je T’aime... Moi Non Plus (I Love You… Nor Do I) and Bonnie & Clyde. On this collection these classic works are presented alongside dozens of Gainsbourg’s lesser known yet equally intriguing and unusual compositions.

The vocal parts originally sung by Gainsbourg’s muses Jane Birkin, Brigitte Bardot and daughter Charlotte Gainsbourg are here sung by long time collaborator Anita Lane – other guests on the albums include Bertrand Burgalat, Warren Ellis, Nick Cave and David McClymont.

Mick Harvey explains, "Translating a great writer is like walking through a minefield and I set myself the difficult task of attempting to keep the places of rhyming, metre and meaning accurate to the originals. One or more of these elements is usually dispensed with in the translating of poetry and lyrics, but I did not want to iron out any of Gainbourg’s more aberrant angles or lose any of his especially perverse and peculair touches."

1 69 Erotic Year  
2 Harley Davidson  
3 Intoxicated Man  
4 The Sun Directly Overhead  
5 Sex Shop  
6 The Barrel Of My 45  
7 Ford Mustang  
8 Overseas Telegram  
9 New York USA  
10 Bonnie & Clyde  
11 Chatterton  
12 The Song Of Slurs  
13 Jazz In The Ravine  
14 I Have Come To Tell You I'm Going  
15 Lemon Incest  
16 Initials B.B.  
1 Pink Elephants  
2 Requiem  
3 The Javanaise  
4 Black Seaweed  
5 Comic Strip  
6 Ticket Puncher  
7 Non Affair  
8 Scenic Railway  
9 To All The Lucky Kids  
10 Anthracite  
11 Manon  
12 I Love You… Nor Do I  
13 The Ballard Of Melody Nelson  
14 Torrey Canyon  
15 Who Is "In" Who Is "Out"  
16 Hotel Specific  

More from Mick Harvey

Mick Harvey: Sketches From The Book Of The Dead
Mick Harvey
Sketches From The Book Of The Dead
CD Album
In Stock
Mick Harvey: FOUR (Acts Of Love)
Mick Harvey
FOUR (Acts Of Love)
CD Album
In Stock
Mick Harvey: FOUR (Acts Of Love)
Mick Harvey
FOUR (Acts Of Love)
Vinyl LP + CD
In Stock
Mick Harvey: Delirium Tremens
Mick Harvey
Delirium Tremens
Vinyl LP
In Stock
Mick Harvey: Intoxicated Women
Mick Harvey
Intoxicated Women
CD Album
Sorry Sold Out