Slug: HiggledyPiggledy: Coloured Vinyl

HiggledyPiggledy: Coloured Vinyl


  • US$21.99
    Delivery from US$10.63

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 13 April 2018
  • Buy Now: Dispatched in 7-10 days
Vinyl LP
Memphis Industries

Slug return with a brand new album, ‘HiggledyPiggledy’, through Memphis Industries.

Slug is the nom de plume of North East native Ian Black and, whereas acclaimed debut album ‘Ripe’ was made in collaboration with Peter Brewis and David Brewis of Field Music, ‘HiggledyPiggledy’ was composed, produced and played entirely by Black, enabling him to give free reign to his beguiling brand of Dada-rock.

Lead track ‘No Heavy Petting’ was consciously written to be an aggressive album opener, which pokes fun at Black’s own Mary Whitehouse-esque response to the sexualisation of music on television.

Black intended ‘HiggledyPiggledy’ to be a more minimal affair than debut ‘Ripe’, focussed more on rhythm and percussion. Thematically the record was written against the backdrop of political turmoil but really it’s about the strange life Black leads in his native Sunderland, an autodidact outsider living his life in Wetherspoons arguing with some of the questionable attitudes of locals. Blacks stated aim to “have fun writing truly horrible lyrics,” playing characters “venting in pubs, writing in the character of how some people think and behave.

1 No Heavy Petting  
2 Earlobe  
3 Gibberish  
4 Basic Aggression  
5 Lackadaisical Love  
6 Dolly Dimple  
7 Tongue  
8 You Don't Need To Wake Up  
9 Humming and Hawing  
10 Petulia  
11 A Soft Shoe Number  
12 Arbitrary Lessons In Custom  
13 You Are As Cold As A Dead Fish  

More from Slug

Slug: HiggledyPiggledy
Vinyl LP
Buy Now: Dispatched in 7-10 days