Altered Images: Happy Birthday + Bonus Red 7

Happy Birthday + Bonus Red 7"

Altered Images

  • US $20.99
    Delivery from US $7.09

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 25 November 2016
  • Buy Now: Dispatched in 7-10 days
Vinyl LP + 7"

Remastered and pressed on 180g vinyl 'Happy Birthday' the bands debut album features a BONUS RED vinyl 7inch of the Steve Severin produced single 'Dead Pop Stars' and its accompanying b-side 'Sentimental', both of which were dropped from the album.

The name Altered Images referred to the sleeve design on the Buzzcocks singles notably 'Promises'. The sleeve artwork for much of the bands early releases was in this almost comic bookesque style, bold blocks of colours and graphics.

Radio 1's John Peel was a huge fan, he was the barometer of taste at the time and to many youngsters growing up, what John Peel played mattered. The list is endless of bands who's first play on National Radio was on the John Peel Show, he was that influential, his dry wit and charm as much his appeal as the music he played. His support for the band led to a recording deal with Epic.

With Clare Grogan on vocals, Gerard McInutly and Tony McDaid on guitars, Michael Anderson on drums and John McElhone on bass guitar the band had little success with their first two singles 'Dead Pop Stars' and 'A Days Wait'. Much to do with timing as anything as 'Dead Pop Stars' as song sung from the point of view of a has-been pop star, the single was released shortly after John Lennon's death so gained little media attention.

'Happy Birthday' was a huge hit, charting No2 for three weeks in the UK charts in October 1981 and earned the band the NME 'Best New Group' and Smash Hits 'Best Newcomer Award' that year.

1. Intro - Happy Birthday
2. Love And Kisses
3. Real Toys
4. Idols
5. Legionaire
6. Faithless
7. Beckoning Strings
8. Happy Birthday
9. Midnight
10. A Days Wait
11. Leave Me Alone
12. Insects
13. Outro - Happy Birthday

7" Vinyl
a. Dead Popstars
b. Sentimental