Beirut: Gallipoli



  • US$12.99
    Delivery from US$6.10

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 01 February 2019
  • Sorry Sold Out
CD Album

Gallipoli, Beirut’s fifth album, started life when Zach Condon returned to his old Farfisa organ, the same one he used to write his first two albums, Gulag Orkestar (2006) and The Flying Club Cup (2007). After stints writing and recording in both New York and Berlin, with time for Zach to recover from a broken arm factored in, band plus producer Gabe Wax (Speedy Ortiz, Soccer Mommy, Adrianne Lenker / Big Thief) headed to Puglia in Italy to finish the album.

With the remote rural setting “the right amount of isolated”, an intense month of 12 to 16-hour days in the studio with day trips around the coastline followed. Inspired by the surroundings, Gallipoli is unintentionally more visceral than Beirut’s more recent albums, alive with an energy that is further enhanced by every creak and groan of their instruments, every detuned note, and all amp buzz and technical malfunction being left in the cracks of the songs.

1 When I Die  
2 Gallipoli  
3 Varieties of Exile  
4 On Mainau Island  
5 I Giardini  
6 Gauze fur Zah  
7 Corfu  
8 Landslide  
9 Family Curse  
10 Light in the Atoll  
11 We Never Lived Here  
12 Fin  

More from Beirut

Beirut: Gallipoli
Vinyl LP
Sorry Sold Out
Beirut: The Rip Tide
The Rip Tide
Vinyl LP
Buy Now: Dispatched in 7-10 days