Hamish Kilgour: Finkelstein


Hamish Kilgour

  • US$29.99
    Delivery from US$10.63

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 29 June 2018
  • In Stock
Vinyl LP
Ba Da Bing

The Clean member Hamish Kilgour’s second-ever solo album, Finklestein, flips the singer / guitarist / drummer’s path taken on All Of It And Nothing. Having previously gone for intimate, minimalistic performances, this album displays a chock-full production quality akin to a fairytale. It’s a fitting change, seeing as the songs are based around a children’s story Kilgour conceived for his son about a kingdom that invents a way of dealing with their depleting gold resources. The songs include organ, saxophone, pedal steel, piano, vibraphone, harmonica, even footsteps (Kilgour is renowned for his stepping), most of it performed by him and his producer / collaborator Gary Olsen at Olsen’s studio, Marlborough Farms, in Brooklyn. Originally conceived as being a children’s book as well as album, it rides roughshod through this fairytale world with grace.

Finklestein took a year to record, as Kilgour’s involvement with a large part of the Brooklyn music scene, as well as dates with recent New Zealand Music Hall of Fame inductees The Clean, split his time. His songs benefit from this elongated recording period, as each track creates its own space within the album’s world, mixing instruments and melodies in a rainbow of ways. Yet it’s Kilgour’s songwriting sensibilities that hold the album together, his charismatic and loose arrangements within a congenial environment of musical play.

1 Lude  
2 Opening (Welcome to Finkels)  
3 Strange Angel  
4 No Money Train  
5 Silver Dollars  
6 Hayride  
7 Dream Sequence  
8 Sidetracked  
9 Mary Sunshine  
10 Whistle Stop  
11 Flip Top Suitcase  
12 Brasilia 666  
13 Gold  
14 Under The Moon  
15 Sweet Dreams Reprise  

More from Hamish Kilgour

Hamish Kilgour: Finkelstein
Hamish Kilgour
CD Album
Buy Now: Dispatched in 7-10 days