Yorkston / Thorne / Khan: Everything Sacred

Everything Sacred

Yorkston / Thorne / Khan

  • US$25.99
    Delivery from US$9.03

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 15 January 2016
  • Sorry Sold Out
Vinyl LP
Fat Possum

Includes Download Code

Yorkston / Thorne / Khan are a new group that comprises James Yorkston, Suhail Yusuf Khan (award winning sarangi player and classical singer from New Delhi) and Jon Thorne, best known as jazz double bass player with electro outfit Lamb.

‘Everything Sacred’ was produced by the band and mixed by Dave Wrench.

The album covers the breadth of folk and traditional, featuring new arrangements of Ivor Cutler and Lal Waterson songs and a Sufi poem set to music, as well as original compositions from the band. Guesting on the album is Choice album nominee Lisa O’Neil.

“Playing together as Yorkston / Thorne / Khan, we tackle a wide array of different sounds and songs. Alongside pieces of our own, there’s a fair chunk of improvisation, plus covers of Ivor Cutler’s ‘Little Black Buzzer’ and Lal Waterson’s ‘Song For Thirza’. Jon’s jazz back-ground definitely comes to the fore, as does Suhail’s devotional singing and outstanding sarangi playing. I just do my best to keep up…” - James Yorkston

1. Knochentanz
2. Little Black Buzzer
3. Song For Thirza
4. Vachaspati/Kaavya
5. Everything Sacred
6. Sufi Song
7. Broken Wave
8. Blues Jumped The Goose

7" Vinyl Single
A. Peggio
B. The Blues You Sang