Jay Som: Everybody Works

Everybody Works

Jay Som

  • US $24.99  

  • Release Date 19 May 2017
  • In Stock
Product code
Vinyl LP
Double Denim

On her first proper album as Jay Som, Melina Duterte, 22, solidifies her rep as a self-made force of sonic splendor and emotional might. If last year's aptly named Turn Into compilation showcased a fuzz-loving artist in flux—chronicling her mission to master bedroom recording—then the rising Oakland star's latest, Everybody Works, is the LP equivalent of mission accomplished.

Duterte is as DIY as ever—writing, recording, playing, and producing every sound beyond a few backing vocals—but she takes us places we never could have imagined, wedding lo-fi rock to hi-fi home orchestration, and weaving evocative autobiographical poetry into energetic punk, electrified folk, and dreamy alt-funk.

Everybody Works was made in three furious, caffeinated weeks. She came home from the road, moved into a new apartment, set up her bedroom studio and dove in. Duterte even ditched most of her demos, writing half the LP on the spot and making lushly composed pieces like "Lipstick Stains" all the more impressive. While the guitar-grinding Jay Som we first fell in love with still reigns on shoegazey shredders like "1 Billion Dogs" and in the melodic distortions of "Take It," we also get the sublimely spacious synth-pop beauty of "Remain," and the luxe, proggy funk of "One More Time, Please."

1 Lipstick Stains  
2 The Bus Song  
3 Remain  
4 1 Billion Dogs  
5 One More Time, Please  
6 Baybee  
7 (BedHead)  
8 Take It  
9 Everybody Works  
10 For Light  

More products from Jay Som

Jay Som: Anak Ko
Jay Som
Anak Ko
CD Album
US $13.99
Dispatched within 5 days
Jay Som: Anak Ko: Limited Edition Red, Orange & Pink Splatter Vinyl LP
Jay Som
Anak Ko: Limited Edition Red, Orange & Pink Splatter Vinyl LP
Vinyl LP
US $23.99
In Stock