Eyes of Love: End of the Game

End of the Game

Eyes of Love

  • US$22.99
    Delivery from US$10.63

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 14 September 2018
  • Buy Now: Dispatched in 7-10 days
Vinyl LP
Wharf Cat Records

‘End Of The Game’ is the anticipated debut full length by Eyes Of Love, a band helmed by Brooklyn songwriter Andrea Schiavelli. Assembling a crew of some of the most skilled musicians in New York’s underground; Lily Konigsberg (Palberta, Lily and Horn Horse), Sammy Weissberg (The Cradle, Sweet Baby Jesus), Paco Cathcart (The Cradle, Shimmer), Schiavelli has cultivated a long player that is obedient to feeling and pulsates with urgent, anxious beauty.

These 14 tracks harness the chaos of reckless abandon amid classic structures. Fans of Eyes Of Love’s self-titled 7” EP will recognize a mastery of breezy pop in tracks like ‘Homeowners’ and ‘Players Of The Field’. We see the band turn toward experimentation on tracks like ‘New’, which alternates between driving power pop and percussive breakdown. The lush strings, arranged by Weissberg, on tracks like ‘Elevator’ and ‘End Of The Game, starkly frame Shiavelli’s earnest songs while adding a depth and variation to this album’s song cycle, as do the solo piano instrumentals ‘Piano1 Final’ and ‘New Piano’.

The full band tracks on ‘End Of The Game’ were recorded live, have no overdubs and are mixed with little or no effects - a rare technique these days and a sign of a band devoted to the details of their arrangements.

1 Homeowners  
2 New  
3 Version of Tomorrow  
4 Piano 1 Final  
5 Players of the Field  
6 Breakers at Midnight  
7 Classifieds Strings  
8 There's a Party  
9 End of the Game  
10 Classifieds  
11 Millionaire  
12 DDT & The Undertaker  
13 Elevator  
14 New Piano