Max Cooper: Emergence


Max Cooper

  • US$14.99
    Delivery from US$6.10

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 25 November 2016
  • Buy Now: Dispatched in 7-10 days
CD Album
Mesh Records

Emergence is an epic, operatic, ambitious amalgamation between audio-visual show, scientific research project, art installation and IDM record, the debut release on Max Cooper's Mesh label and his second full-length release. Single CD digipak, featuring black and gold ink printed onto silver laminated board to create a unique and beautiful effect.

Max has synthesised his skill as a producer and his deep interests in science to create a Hadron Collider-grade ambient techno world, in the lineage of The Future Sounds of London's 'Lifeforms' for 2016. It's also one of the most beautiful records you'll hear all year.

The record was conceived as a soundtrack to a new series of 11 pieces of video art, each exploring a different facet of the concept of 'emergence'. The full A/V live show will premiere at Mutek, Japan on November 2nd 2016. Together the work is a marriage between the cosmic awe of a Carl Sagan film and the musical wonderment of Sigur Ros, made for meditating on the mystery of our emotional connection to fundamental natural form.

Cooper collaborated with film composer Tom Hodge and vocalist Kathrin deBoer to put together a rich piece of music that incorporates post-rock, Warp-y brain-dance, hi-def digital techno and shimmering neo-classical. Few musicians are as qualified as Max to tackle as profound an idea as 'emergence' through electronic music. Emergence is the story of the development of the universe, the way in which, very complex things like human beings where created from the immaterial by the action of simple laws.

1. Symmetry with Tom Hodge
2. Seed feat. Kathrin deBoer
3. Waves
4. Distant Light
5. Myth with Tom Hodge
6. Order From Chaos
7. Cyclic
8. Impermanence feat. Kathrin deBoer
9. Trust with Tom Hodge feat. Kathrin deBoer
10. Organa
11. Unbounded

More from Max Cooper

Max Cooper: Tileyard Improvisations Vol. 1
Max Cooper, Kathrin deBoer, Quentin Collins
Tileyard Improvisations Vol. 1
Vinyl LP
In Stock