The Clang Group: EP


The Clang Group

  • US $11.99  

  • Release Date 16 February 2015
  • Dispatched within 5 days
Product code
10" Single

The Clang Group are Clive Langer (guitar & vox), Andy Mackay (sax), Gregg Braden (drums), John Wood (keys) and Malcolm Lunan (bass).

Clanger aka Cliff Hanger aka Clive Langer wants to be a pop star at the age of 60. After 35 years of producing other people’s discs for other dreamers (including Elvis Costello, Madness, Morrissey, Dexy’s Midnight Runners, The Teardrop Explodes and most recently his new labelmates The Amazing Snakeheads) it’s about time he got back to what he loved best. He started a rock and roll band, The Clang Group, with legendary Roxy Music saxophonist Andy Mackay.

The concept was conceived at a dinner in February 2014 in Bethnal Green with drummer Gregg Braden bemoaning the lack of stage action. These two musicians having a coincidental window decide to form a band there and then.

The Sensational Deaf School, Clive’s original band, have had a remarkable renaissance in the last few years, rejuvenating Clive’s love of playing his old guitar, with astonishing aplomb on this remarkable EP, which includes Clive revisiting the incredible ‘Shipbuilding’ which he wrote with Elvis Costello for the ‘godfather’ Robert Wyatt.

1. Rhoda
2. Places And Things
3. Breaking Out
4. Shipbuilding