Damon Albarn: Dr Dee

Dr Dee

Damon Albarn

  • US $3.99  

  • Release Date 07 May 2012
  • Sorry Sold Out
Product code
CD Album
Number of Discs

Dr Dee, a new studio album by Damon Albarn, will be released by Parlophone Records on 7th May 2012.

Dr Dee is 18 tracks of songs and music inspired by the life of John Dee, mathematician, polymath and advisor to Elizabeth I. Described by Albarn as 'strange pastoral folk', Dr Dee is a fitting companion to the end of another Elizabethan age. The album combines Albarn's voice with early English choral and instrumentation alongside modern, West African and Renaissance sounds.

Dr Dee was recorded late last year in Albarn's West London studio and also in Salford with the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra. The album was mixed by Valgeir Sigursson in Reykjavik.

1 The Golden Dawn  
2 Apple Carts  
3 O Spirit, Animate Us  
4 The Moon Exalted  
5 A Man of England  
6 Saturn  
7 Coronation  
8 The Marvelous Dream  
9 A Prayer  
10 Edward Kelley  
11 Preparation  
12 9 Point Star  
13 Temptation Comes in the Afternoon  
14 Watching the Fire That Waltzed Away  
15 Moon (Interlude)  
16 Cathedrals  
17 Tree of Beauty  
18 The Dancing King