J. Roddy Walston & The Business: Destroyers Of The Soft Life: White Vinyl

Destroyers Of The Soft Life: White Vinyl

J. Roddy Walston & The Business

  • US$29.99
    Delivery from US$10.63

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 29 September 2017
  • In Stock
Vinyl LP
ATO Records

Includes Download Code

J. Roddy Walston & The Business has melded engaging, melodic songwriting with sharp observations about American culture on Destroyers of the Soft Life, their new album set for a September 29 release on ATO Records.

Destroyers of the Soft Life began two years ago when Rod Walston (lead singer / guitarist / piano), Billy Gordon (guitar), Logan Davis (bass) and Steve Colmus (drums) purchased space in a Richmond, Virigina WWII era bomb shelter turned lumber yard. The foursome gutted and subsequently spent seven months transforming it into their own recording studio. As they put down roots Walston also became a father for the first time, inspiring lyrics that take an unflinching look at family dynamics and parental motivations.

This includes the album’s lead single “The Wanting” which speaks to a fractured father-son relationship. Currently spinning at over fifty Alternative radio stations, “Walston and the Business smooth out some of their scruffier tendencies on ‘The Wanting,’ resulting in a cleaner, anthem-friendly approach with big, booming refrains reminiscent of Kings of Leon,” said Rolling Stone


“We had never been a band where we pretended that it’s 1965,” Walston said. “Loud rock and roll music has become less relevant because it’s just been on a loop,” he says. “If there was any rule on this record, it was, let’s be a part of music right now. I want to be part of living music in this moment.”

1 You Know Me Better  
2 Blade Of Truth  
3 Numbers  
4 Ways  
5 Heart Is Free  
6 I Called You  
7 The Wanting  
8 Bad Habits  
9 Bleed Out  
10 Burn Black