Soft As Snow: Deep Wave

Deep Wave

Soft As Snow

  • US $24.99  

  • Release Date 06 April 2018
  • In Stock
Product code
Vinyl LP

The Norwegian-born, Berlin-based duo Soft As Snow will release their debut album ‘Deep Wave’ via Houndstooth. It was created by Soft As Snow members Oda Egjar Starheim and Øystein Monsen, with additional mixing and production by WIFE of Tri Angle Records.

Their oblique leftfield pop recalls Cabaret Voltaire, Throbbing Gristle, deep Detroit techno, 90s IDM, Fever Ray, cold wave and the ‘Mutazione’ compilations but is simultaneously fresh, original and groundbreaking, crowned with Oda’s esoteric and otherworldly voice.

Soft As Snow are two people making music with little acknowledgement for conventions of the outside world and ‘Deep Wave’ gives a peek into the sound-environment they’ve created. It’s genuinely original music, governed by its own unconventional logic, language and creatively free sense of play that’s simultaneously childlike, fun, harrowing, angular and dark.

1 Black Egg  
2 Snake  
3 Drip  
4 Deep Wave  
5 X  
6 Tropical Speed  
7 Be My Babe  
8 Pink Rushes  
9 Dry  
10 XX  
11 Sleep/Slip  
12 Låssbyn  
13 Mass