Catherine Wheel: Chrome: Silver Numbered Vinyl

Chrome: Silver Numbered Vinyl

Catherine Wheel

  • US $26.99  

  • Release Date 01 September 2017
  • Sorry Sold Out
Product code
Vinyl LP
Music On Vinyl

• 180 Gram Audiophile Vinyl
• Includes Insert
• Cover Design By Hipgnosis (Pink Floyd, Genesis, Led Zeppelin, 10cc And The Alan Parsons Project)
• First Pressing Of 1500 Numbered Copies On Silver Vinyl

Long before groups like Oasis and Blur provoked cross-Atlantic media hype, Catherine Wheel were evolving the Britpop style that typifies the genre’s distinction. With the release of Chrome in 1993, they advanced their dreamy pop to the rock sound.

It’s not like Catherine Wheel established their sound with Chrome, either. Ferment was considered their supposed magnum opus, with the extremely successful lead-single “Black Metallic”. Chrome is more appropriately described as a perfection of their established sound, as the band’s metallic shoegaze is refined in terms of both intensity and melodic-content. Every element that made Ferment so memorable and enjoyable is amplified in this release. Rob Dickenson sings with perfect tenor appeal on tracks like “Kill Rhythm” and “Crank,” highlighting the personal temperaments which shape the album.

There are quite a few album covers out there that flawlessly encapsulate the atmosphere and/or mood of the music contained. Chrome has one of those covers. It’s design came from the collective Hipgnosis, who gained international prestige for the cover of Dark Side Of The Moon by Pink Floyd.

Side A
1 Kill Rhythm  
2 I Confess  
3 Crank  
4 Broken Head  
5 Pain  
6 Strange Fruit  
Side B
1 Chrome  
2 The Nude  
3 Ursa Major Space Station  
4 Fripp  
5 Half Life  
6 Show Me Mary  

More products from Catherine Wheel

Catherine Wheel: Ferment: Orange & Gold Vinyl
Catherine Wheel
Ferment: Orange & Gold Vinyl
Vinyl LP
US $26.99
Sorry Sold Out