The James Taylor Quartet: Bumpin’ On Frith Street

Bumpin’ On Frith Street

The James Taylor Quartet

  • US $22.99  

  • Release Date 23 February 2018
  • Dispatched within 5 days
Product code
Vinyl LP
Gearbox Records

During the Spring of 2015, The James Taylor Quartet played a sold-out six-show run at Ronnie Scott’s Jazz Club. Every night’s performance was recorded, the standout set being the late show on Friday 25th March. By this time, any initial ‘red light fever’ had long dissipated and the musicians were fully settled in. They were performing at their best and concentrating on capturing the special relationship between the band and the Ronnie Scott’s audience.

The desire to return to a stripped-down approach means the band pare everything down to the essence. There were no horns or percussion, just James Taylor on Hammond C3, guitarist Mark Cox, bassist Andrew McKinney and drummer Pat Illingworth, a line-up now solid for over three years.

1 Parallelo  
2 Proctor Quod Et Deus  
3 Duffin Round  
4 Song For My Dad  
5 Rootdown  
6 Never In My Wildest Dreams  
7 Sweet Revival  
8 Jungle Strut