Scott Lavene: Broke: CD

Broke: CD

Scott Lavene

  • US$14.99
    Delivery from US$6.10

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 25 February 2022
  • Buy Now: Dispatched in 7-10 days
CD Album
Nothing Fancy
Re-press of ‘Broke’, originally released on 7th June 2019, an album that is drenched in living in the gutter but staring at the stars.

Lavene has the lyrical smarts and the fairground bark of an Ian Dury, the incisive wordplay of a Costello and the deadpan pop of Madness in his creative DNA, along with the street poetry of an Essex boy version of Lou Reed, the dislocated funk of Talking Heads, the jellied eel lyrical bounce of Chas and Dave, and the inventive surreal see-saw of a Tom Waits, and many other nonconformists.

It’s an intoxicating brew that he makes his own in this collection of wonderful quirky songs that make up ‘Broke’.

These are songs that are full of detail and a life lived in scuffed shoes, rainy towns and the magic of the everyday. Songs about small talk, being skint, doomed affairs and the sweetness of falling in love over a cup of tea.

Creating unconventional backdrops for his street tales Scott builds up shapeshifting rhymes and looping grooves.

‘Rhythmically I wanted to be able make a whole album where you could just listen to the drums and bass and yet twist with street stories and with an instrumental sixties atmosphere like Gainsbourg or film soundtracks like David Lynch or Wim Wenders - sort of like making soundtracks for films that had not been made.’

It may have taken time but sometimes, though, life eventually smiles on these maverick souls and now signed to Nothing Fancy as a solo artist Scott Lavene is finally surfacing on people’s radar which brings us to the now and a blinking bemused looking singer on the edge of mainstream embrace.
1 My Stereo  
2 Apples And Pears  
3 Superclean  
4 Modern World  
5 Moonbeams  
6 Light of the Moon  
7 Broke  
8 Methylated Blue  
9 Someplace New  

More from Scott Lavene

Scott Lavene: Broke: Black Vinyl LP
Scott Lavene
Broke: Black Vinyl LP
Vinyl LP
Buy Now: Dispatched in 7-10 days