Pere Ubu: Architecture Of Language

Architecture Of Language

Pere Ubu

  • US $72.99
    Delivery from US $23.90

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 18 March 2016
  • In Stock
Vinyl Box Set
Fire Recordings Ltd

Includes Download Code and poster

4LP box set with new masters of the albums ‘New Picnic Time’ (1979), ‘The Art Of Walking’ (1980) and ‘Song Of The Bailing Man’ (1982) plus a disk of extras, ‘Architectural Salvage’, ‘Co-Ed jail’ poster and download postcard. Pere Ubu reinvented rock music from the ground up. Equally at ease with Sun Ra and The Monkees, Glen Campbell and The MC5, Can and The Raspberries, they are the white Funkadelic. 2015’s box set release, ‘Elitism For The People 1975-1978’ is a veritable primer for exploring the possibilities of popular music. It documents the band “creating their own private musical apocalypse and then forging on to start the world a new” (Uncut, Jim Wirth).

The second in the series of box sets, ‘Architecture Of Language 1979-1982,’ gathers together “the scariest album ever recorded,” ‘New Picnic Time,’ with its companion releases, ‘The Art Of Walking’ and ‘Song Of The Bailing Man.’ These are records of “unique beauty - a beauty marked by truth and thus also tragic and sometimes painful” (Sounds, Chris Cutler). Ian Penman, writing in 1980 in the New Musical Express, said “It is obvious that (the history of) Pere Ubu should not be thought of in terms of a linear development - reducing its entire operation and presence to an exclusive concern for working and succeeding in rock and roll. Unfortunately, most criticism - of Pere Ubu, of many other folks - assumes that words have one meaning, that desires point in a single direction, that ideas are logical; it ignores the fact that the world of language, noise and desire is one of lack, insecurity, interruption, struggle, blundering, disguises, ploys, embarrassed grins.”

Mastered by Brian Pyle, the original quarter-inch stereo mix tapes were digitally transferred by Paul Hamann at Suma at a 192khz / 24 bit resolution. From these the vinyl LPs were cut by Pete Norman with a Neumann VMS80 lathe. The Coed Jail Tour marks the release of the box with a set list drawn exclusively from the recordings of 1975-1982. Tom Herman, guitarist from 1975 to 1979 and from 1997 to 2002, rejoins the band for the tour. The line-up is David Thomas, Tom Herman, Robert Wheeler, Michele Temple and Steve Mehlman. Wheeler and Temple have been in Pere Ubu since 1994, Mehlman since 1995.

New Picnic Time
1. The Fabulous Sequel (Have Shoes Will Walk)
2. 49 Guitars And One Girl
3. A Small Dark Cloud
4. Small Was Fast
5. All The Dogs Are Barking
6. One Less Worry
7. Make Hay
8. Goodbye
9. The Voice Of The Sand
10. Kingdom Come

The Art of Walking
1. Go
2. Rhapsody In Pink
3. Arabia
4. Misery Goats
5. Young Miles In The Basement
6. Loop
7. Rounder
8. Birdies
9. Lost In Art
10. Horses
11. Crush This Horn

Song of the Bailing Man
1. The Long Walk Home
2. Use Of A Dog
3. Petrified
4. Stormy Weather
5. West Side Story
6. Thoughts That Go By Steam
7. Big Ed's Used Farms
8. A Day Such As This
9. The Vulgar Boatman Bird
10. My Hat
11. Horns Are A Dilemma

Architectural Salvage
1. Humor Me – live
2. The Book Is On The Table
3. All The Dogs Are Barking - alt mix 4
4. Arabian Nights
5. Tribute To Miles
6. Horses - alt mix 3
7. Rounder - alt mix 1
8. Not Happy
9. Lonesome Cowboy Dave

More from Pere Ubu

Pere Ubu: Carnival Of Souls
Pere Ubu
Carnival Of Souls
Vinyl LP
US $25.99
Buy Now: Dispatched in 7-10 days