The Drums: Abysmal Thoughts

Abysmal Thoughts

The Drums

  • US $9.99  

  • Release Date 16 June 2017
  • Sorry Sold Out
Product code
CD Album

With The Drums’ new Abysmal Thoughts, band founder Jonny Pierce is making the exact album he’s always held in his heart. Of course, this is The Drums, so that heart is broken—but there’s beauty and even bliss in this kind of heartbreak, as well as that special kind of glorious delirium that comes from taking everything life can throw at you and still walking away triumphant. Here Pierce is back in full control of The Drums, not just writing all the songs himself but playing every instrument and bringing his exact personal vision to life. Not coincidentally, it’s some of the most revelatory work he’s ever done. If Abysmal Thoughts doesn’t sound at all abysmal—really, Pierce has rarely been this irresistibly pop—that’s because this is a story about how to figure out what happiness means once the worst has already happened: “If there’s one thing I can rely on it’s the healing power of being an artist,” he says. “I’m falling back in love with music.”

1. Mirror
2. I'll Fight For Your Life
3. Blood Under My Belt
4. Heart Basel
5. Shoot The Sun Down
6. Head Of The Horse
7. Under The Ice
8. Are U Fucked
9. Your Tenderness
10. Rich Kids
11. If All We Share (Means Nothing)
12. Abysmal Thoughts

More products from The Drums

The Drums: Portamento
The Drums
CD Album
US $17.99
In Stock
The Drums: Brutalism
The Drums
CD Album
US $15.99
Dispatched within 5 days
The Drums: Brutalism
The Drums
Vinyl LP
US $23.99
In Stock