Bernard Herrmann: Marnie: Super Deluxe Edition Scarlet Vinyl

Marnie: Super Deluxe Edition Scarlet Vinyl

Bernard Herrmann

  • US $44.99  

  • Release Date 02 August 2019
  • Dispatched within 5 days
Product code
LP + CD + 7"


“Marnie held a special place for Benny. He always said to me that out of all of his recordings that one came closest to realising his original ideas. It was his favourite.” - Norma Herrmann (Bernard Herrmann’s widow)

A 1964 American Psychological thriller from The Master of Suspense, Alfred Hitchcock, based upon the novel by Winston Graham and starring Tippi Hedren & Sean Connery. ‘Marnie’ sees Hedren’s anti-heroine, a thief with erythrophobia, blackmailed into marrying Sean Connery’s widower.

The last collaboration between director Alfred Hitchcock and composer Bernard Herrmann is not only recognised as one of the finest score’s Herrmann composed and recorded for their legendary partnership but also one of the greatest of all his works. Never-before-available ‘Marnie’ debuts in a stunning stereo master. The Original Motion Picture Soundtrack composed and conducted by Bernard Herrmann is released on 26th April 2019 in a Super-Deluxe soundtrack package by Stylotone working closely with the families of Alfred J. Hitchcock and Bernard Herrmann.

The soundtrack (painstakingly restored from the original music masters) has been Assembled, Mastered and Cut at London’s world-famous Abbey Road Studios by Grammy®award-winning engineer Sean Magee.

Over 58 minutes of music - in three formats (Vinyl, CD & Download - including both Hi-Resolution & MP3) - available in a Super-Deluxe package produced to the absolute highest possible standard as if it had been released at the same time as the film, having sourced manufacturers who are able to produce all the parts on exactly the same machines as used in the 1960s.

The ‘Marnie’ Super-Deluxe soundtrack package is released in a translucent scarlet coloured vinyl edition featuring spot varnished 320gsm tip-on gatefold sleeve and contains:

    ● 2 x 180g ‘Scarlet’ Coloured Heavyweight 12” Vinyl LP’s, cut at 45rpm.
    ● An Expanded ‘Vinyl’ Replica CD housed in a Scale-Copy of the Gatefold Sleeve - containing the Complete Score plus unused / alternate cues.
    ● An Exclusive 45rpm 2-Track 7” Black Vinyl Single featuring Nat King Cole’s rendition of the song ‘Marnie’ co-written by Bernard Herrmann c/w The Main Theme.
    ● A Download Card offering exclusive access to High-Resolution 24-bit WAV and 320kbps CBR MP3 Digital Downloads of the LP, CD and unused / alternate cues.
    ● A 30” x 40” (762mm x 1016mm) newly commissioned British Quad Film Poster. The poster has been specially printed using original 1960s production processes - matching not only the poster weight of the time but also the correct machine folds (since film posters would be machine folded and inserted into large brown envelopes before arriving in the post at cinemas - this was before digital media, kids!).
    ● To round off the Super-Deluxe package Bernard Herrmann’s biographer, Steven C. Smith, offers a unique and compelling insight into this soundtrack with his own sleeve notes.
    ● Assembled, Mastered & Cut by Sean Magee at Abbey Road Studios, London
1 Marnie Main Theme  
2 Nat King Cole - Marnie  
[Additional CD tracks - in track sequence]
1 Flashback I (unused)  
2 Mr Strutt (alternate)  
3 Shock (unused)  
Side A
1 Prelude  
2 Marnie  
3 Forio  
4 Red Flowers  
5 The Shampoo  
6 The Bowl  
7 No. 9  
8 Want Ad  
9 The Stranger  
10 Red Ink  
11 The Drawer  
Side B
1 The Storm  
2 Red Jacket  
3 The Homestead  
4 Romance  
5 The Safe  
6 Encounter  
7 The Wedding  
8 The Porch  
9 The Checkbook  
10 The Bridal Suite  
11 The Cabin  
12 Alone  
13 The Shadow  
Side C
1 Love Scene  
2 The Pool  
3 Homecoming  
4 |The Window  
5 Telephone  
6 The Horse  
7 The Nightmare  
8 The Book  
9 Mr Strutt (Film version)  
10 The Word Game  
11 The Hunt  
Side D
1 Forio’s Fall  
2 Forio’s Death  
3 The Stairs / The Keys / The Stairway  
4 The Dial  
5 The Money  
6 The Gun  
7 Departure  
8 The Street  
9 Flashback II  
10 Blood  
11 Farewell  
12 Finale  
13 Cast  

More products from Bernard Herrmann

Bernard Herrmann: Twisted Nerve
Bernard Herrmann
Twisted Nerve
7" Single
US $8.99
Sorry Sold Out
Bernard Herrmann: Twisted Nerve: Black Super Deluxe Edition
Bernard Herrmann
Twisted Nerve: Black Super Deluxe Edition
Vinyl Box Set
US $51.99
Sorry Sold Out
Bernard Herrmann: Twisted Nerve: Yellow Super Deluxe Edition
Bernard Herrmann
Twisted Nerve: Yellow Super Deluxe Edition
Vinyl Box Set
US $51.99
Sorry Sold Out
Bernard Herrmann: North by Northwest
Bernard Herrmann
North by Northwest
Double Vinyl LP
US $26.53
In Stock