The Ninth Wave: Infancy


The Ninth Wave

  • US$30.99
    Delivery from US$12.52

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 15 November 2019
  • In Stock
Double Vinyl LP
Distiller Records
A brief glimpse into The Ninth Wave’s disruptive, convention-skewering world makes it clear in an instant that this is a band with something to say. Their sharp, self-assured lyrics take a no-holds-barred approach to documenting the state of society, the human condition and their own personal battles, all written from the very relatable perspective of a group of young people existing in a time defined by widespread unrest and division. From explorations of self-torment and paranoia (“This Broken Design”) to not being accepted by society (“Flower Into Wounds”) and the overwhelming fatigue of living in a superficial culture (“Half Pure”), “Infancy” is, at its core, a mirror of the darkest facets of living in 2019. The Ninth Wave’s uncompromising message is delivered in a gargantuan, electrifying sonic style that can’t fully be likened to anyone who’s come before them. “We never started with a mindset of ‘We want to be like this band,’” says frontman Haydn Park-Patterson. “We're always trying to do something new.” In a wildly oversaturated market of cut-and-paste indie, The Ninth Wave offer a shock of ’80s-infused power pop, drawing influence from the post-punk greats and a blend of their parents’ record collections, including Stevie Nicks, JJ Cale and AC/DC. The vast array of inspirations they cite culminates in something that is wholly unique, lending itself to no labels or sub genres besides “the sound of The Ninth Wave.”
1 This Broken Design  
2 Used to Be Yours  
3 Half Pure  
4 All the Things We Do  
5 A Wave Goodbye to the People Who Said I'd Win  
6 First Encounters  
7 Human Behaviour  
8 Imitation  
9 Sometimes the Silence is Sweeter  
10 Everything That You Have Left  
11 Unspoken  
12 Flower Into Wounds  

More from The Ninth Wave

The Ninth Wave: Infancy
The Ninth Wave
CD Album
Buy Now: Dispatched in 7-10 days
The Ninth Wave: Heavy Like a Headache: Limited Edition Terracotta Vinyl LP
The Ninth Wave
Heavy Like a Headache: Limited Edition Terracotta Vinyl LP
Vinyl LP
In Stock