Makaya McCraven: Universal Beings

Universal Beings

Makaya McCraven

  • US $35.99  

  • Release Date 16 November 2018
  • In Stock
Product code
Double Vinyl LP
International Anthem Recording Co

Universal Beings is jazz drummer / producer Makaya McCraven's new album - his most ambitious, elegant and refined work yet. Recorded at 2 intimate live sessions and 2 pop-up "studio" sessions across the "new" jazz hotbed cities of New York, Chicago, London, and Los Angeles, Makaya collaborated with an all-star cast of improvisers (15 musicians in total, including Shabaka Hutchings, Nubya Garcia, Jeff Parker, Miguel Atwood-Ferguson,Tomeka Reid, Brandee Younger and Carlos Niño) to create source material for the signature style of "organic beat music" production he debuted on the ground-breaking 2015 release In The Moment. The result is this epic, 2xLP set that represents another breakthrough in Makaya's career as a recording artist, as well as a definitive new work of the exciting global groundswell of next-generation, Black musicians re-vivifying and re-articulating "jazz" in 2018.

Disc 1
1 A Queen's Intro  
2 Holy Lands  
3 Young Genius  
4 Black Lion  
5 Tall Tales  
6 Mantra  
7 Pharaoh's Intro  
8 Atlantic Black  
9 Inner Flight  
10 Wise Man, Wiser Woman  
11 Prosperity's Fear  
Disc 2
1 Flipped OUT  
2 Voila  
3 Suite Haus  
4 The Newbies Lift Off  
5 The Royal Outro  
6 The Count Off  
7 Butterss's  
8 Turtle Tricks  
9 The Fifth Monk  
10 Brighter Days Beginning  
11 Universal Beings  

More products from Makaya McCraven

Makaya McCraven: Universal Beings
Makaya McCraven
Universal Beings
Double CD Album
US $13.99
Dispatched within 5 days