Frightened Rabbit: The Midnight Organ Fight: Black Vinyl LP

The Midnight Organ Fight: Black Vinyl LP

Frightened Rabbit

  • US$28.99
    Delivery from US$8.82

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 18 February 2022
  • Sorry Sold Out
Vinyl LP
Fat Cat Records
An unconventional three-piece with a defined personality, and a gift for being able to nail a near perfect pop song, Frightened Rabbit convey candid tales of ordinary folk with a wry, acerbic wit via an eloquent, emotive, modern garage-pop aesthetic.

Comprising Scott (vocals, guitar), Billy (guitar, keys), and Grant (Drums, vocals), the origins of the band were rooted in 2003, when Scott began playing solo shows under the name Frightened Rabbit, with his brother Grant joining in 2004, and Billy completing the line-up in 2006. Lyrically ranging from incisive social commentary, to lucid, humourous explorations of interpersonal relationships, Scott’s songs were essentially folk-tinged pop songs with more fervent ambitions. Somewhat atypically there is no bass, but crucially nothing is missing; Billy’s second guitar augments or bolsters Scott’s guitar/vocal hub, or drops an octave to add weight or bottom end. Grant’s drum patterns are alternately or simultaneously physical and adroit, adding accent and eloquence to the score.

Recorded by Peter Katis (Mercury Rev, Interpol) over the space of two weeks, and mixed over the ensuing fortnight, ‘Midnight…’ was written with the intention of creating a more ‘pop’ sounding album. Yet although musically more immediate, vitally, the band did not forsake the personality or passion of any of their earlier recordings.

1 The Modern Leper  
2 I Feel Better  
3 Good Arms vs Bad Arms  
4 Fast Blood  
5 Old Old Fashioned  
6 The Twist  
7 Bright Pink Bookmark  
8 Head Rolls Off  
9 My Backwards Walk  
10 Keep Yourself Warm  
11 Extrasupervery  
12 Poke  
13 Floating In The Forth  
14 Who’d You Kill Now?  

More from Frightened Rabbit

Frightened Rabbit: Pedestrian Verse: Vinyl Reissue
Frightened Rabbit
Pedestrian Verse: Vinyl Reissue
Vinyl LP
In Stock