John Hiatt: The Eclipse Sessions: Coloured Vinyl

The Eclipse Sessions: Coloured Vinyl

John Hiatt

  • US$25.99
    Delivery from US$10.63

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 12 October 2018
  • Buy Now: Dispatched in 7-10 days
Vinyl LP
New West Records

The Eclipse Sessions’, John Hiatt’s newest album, offers up his strongest set of songs in years.

Long celebrated as a skilled storyteller and keen observer of life’s twists and turns, Hiatt can get at the heart of a knotty emotion or a moment in time with just a sharp, incisive lyric or witty turn of phrase.

The 11 tracks presented in ‘The Eclipse Sessions’, from the breezy opener ‘Cry To Me’ to the stark ‘Nothing In My Heart’, the lost-love lamentation ‘Aces Up Your Sleeve’ to the rollicking ‘Poor Imitation Of God’, demonstrate that the singer-songwriter, now 66, is only getting better with age, his guitar playing more rugged and rootsy, his words wiser and more wry.

Hiatt goes all in with ‘The Eclipse Sessions’. There’s a grit to these songs - a craggy, perfectly-imperfect quality that colours every aspect of the performances, right down to Hiatt’s vocals, which are quite possibly his most raw and expressive to date. “They ain’t pretty, that’s for sure,” he says about the creaks and cracks that punctuate his phrases in songs like ‘Poor Imitation Of God’ and ‘One Stiff Breeze’. “But I don’t mind a bit. All the catches and the glitches and the gruffness, that sounds right to me. That sounds like who I am.”

‘The Eclipse Sessions’ is the sound of an artist not only living in but also capturing the moment.

1 Cry To Me  
2 All The Way To The River  
3 Aces Up Your Sleeve  
4 Poor Imitation Of God  
5 Nothing In My Heart  
6 Over The Hil  
7 Outrunning My Soul  
8 Hide Your Tears  
9 The Odds Of Loving You  
10 One Stiff Breeze  
11 Robber’s Highway  

More from John Hiatt

John Hiatt: The Eclipse Sessions
John Hiatt
The Eclipse Sessions
CD Album
Buy Now: Dispatched in 7-10 days