Pentangle: Sweet Child (50th Anniversary): Recordstore Exclusive Gold Vinyl

Sweet Child (50th Anniversary): Recordstore Exclusive Gold Vinyl


  • US $40.99  

  • Release Date 28 September 2018
  • In Stock
Product code
Double Vinyl LP
Real Gone Music

A Recordstore Exclusive

Pentangle is one of those bands that, after you hear them for the first time, you have to turn your friends on to their sound. And what a unique sound it is, too; the interlocking interplay of guitar masters Bert Jansch and John Renbourn, the piercingly beautiful vocals of Jacqui McShee, and the sublimely agile shuffle of bassist Danny Thompson and percussionist Terry Cox create a style that seamlessly straddles jazz, traditional British folk, rock, blues, and even classical. And, perhaps most importantly, it swings! Sweet Child, their second album, is probably their finest hour (and a half); the first disc of this double-LP captures the quintet live at Royal Festival Hall on June 29, 1968, while disc two brings them into IBC studios, all under the magisterial eye of legendary producer Shel Talmy. You'll hear everything from Mingus covers (of "Haitian Fight Song" and "Goodbye Pork Pie Hat") to trad folk ("No More My Lord;" "Bruton Town") to Pentangle originals ("In Time;" "In Your Mind," "A Woman Like You," and the title tune) rendered in their trademark lyrical fashion. For this LP reissue, we have stayed true to the wonderful gatefold art originally created by Peter Blake, the artist who designed Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band, and pressed up a limited edition of 300 copies in gold vinyl. A beautiful record that deserves repeated spins…a proud addition, on the 50th anniversary of its release, to our Real Gone Music roster!

Side A
1 Market Song  
2 No More My Lord  
3 Turn Your Money Green  
4 Haitian Fight Song  
5 A Woman Like You  
6 Goodbye Pork Pie Hat  
Side B
1 Three Dances (a) Brentzel Gay (b) La Rotta (c) The Earle of Salisbury  
2 Watch the Stars  
3 So Early in the Spring  
4 No Exit  
5 The Time Has Come  
6 Bruton Town  
Side C
1 Sweet Child  
2 I Loved a Lass  
3 Three-Part Thing  
4 Sovay  
5 In Time  
Side D
1 In Your Mind  
2 I've Got a Feeling  
3 The Trees They Do Grow High  
4 Moon Dog  
5 Hole in My Coal  

More products from Pentangle

Pentangle: The Pentangle
The Pentangle
Vinyl LP
US $21.99
Dispatched within 5 days