Ian Shaw: Shine Sister Shine

Shine Sister Shine

Ian Shaw

  • US$25.99
    Delivery from US$12.14

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 07 September 2018
  • Buy Now: Dispatched in 7-10 days
Double Vinyl LP
Jazz Village

Jazz Village is incredibly proud to present the vinyl and digital download album formats of Ian Shaw’s new album ‘Shine Sister Shine’, his second for the label following the huge success of ‘The Theory Of Joy’ (2016 - for which Ian has been nominated for Male Jazz Vocalist Of The Year in the prestigious US Downbeat 82nd Annual Readers’ Poll).

It is rare enough to find a master of the vocal art and a fine pianist to boot, which Ian is internationally recognised as, let alone a man with these talents and powerful political and ethical beliefs and the strength of character to put these into practice. Some might say that art and politics don't mix; well Ian Shaw is the man to prove you wrong. ‘Shine Sister Shine’ exemplifies these qualities: a great band recording great music with a powerful political message - music, in fact, for our time.

‘Shine Sister Shine’, singer Ian Shaw’s brand new studio album, is a celebration of the actions and art of extraordinary women. Moved by recent world events - the election of a cartoon president whose life is more suited to the high-end romps of a glossy pin-up mag hero - and the subsequent rallying of millions of women, Shaw has penned new songs reflecting two years’ working alongside refugees ('Keep Walking' is a hymn to the resilience of an Eritrean mother, whose life was shredded by civil war and a world that looks the other way. ‘Carry On World’ stars Shaw’s sisters - all five million of them).

Shaw is known as one of the jazz world’s supreme interpreters of the popular song form - here showcasing dazzling new arrangements of works by Peggy Lee, Phoebe Snow, Joni Mitchell, Carly Simon, as well as friends and collaborators closer to home - Sarah Jane Morris, the genre-defying Gwyneth Herbert, Judith Owen, Julie Matthews - and a stunning co-write with UK pop legend, Tanita Tikaram, on the title track.

The acclaimed contemporary novelist Stella Duffy says of Shaw’s new album: “This is an album crammed with sharp pain, deeply felt, then countered with soaring, resonant hope. Empire States Of Mind for all. We see what hurts, we cry the tears, and because we know there is also life, also light, we dig deep and find the strength to make a change. Where to start? Start anywhere, start here. Start now.”

1 Carry On World (Starring  
2 Everyone)  
3 I Don’t Know Enough  
4 About You  
5 Trip And Tumble  
6 This Beautiful Life  
7 Shine Sister Shine  
8 Keep Walking (Song  
9 ForSara)  
10 How Little We Know  
11 Not The Kind Of Girl  
12 Empire State Of Mind  
13 (New York)  
14 Touch Your Soul  
15 Shine  
16 Coming Around Again  
17 1Marche Loin (Pour Sara)