Macy Gray: RUBY


Macy Gray

  • US$26.99
    Delivery from US$10.63

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 21 September 2018
  • In Stock
Vinyl LP

Her tenth full-length album, ‘Ruby’, Macy Gray, reaffirms and reasserts that rare space in the canon of modern music, which she occupies. Channeling the spirit of the “grimy” R&B and smoky jazz closest to her heart, Macy made a leap forward by looking back to formative inspirations.

However, she updated those elements with enriched, entrancing, and enigmatic soundscapes brought to life by producers Johan Carlsson [Michael Buble , Maroon 5], Tommy Brown [Jennifer Lopez, Fifth Harmony, Travis Scott], and Tommy Parker Lumpkins [Janet Jackson, Justin Bieber].

Ruby canvases a wide spectrum for the songstress. Raucous horns that feel ripped from a classic seventies flick augment the grit on “Cold World” as “Jealousy” spins a covetous narrative that soars as it seduces. Gary Clark Jr. adds six-string firepower to “Buddha.” Everything culminates on the reggaeinspired “Witness,” which shuffles between mainland soul and island grooves as she croons, “I wish I was Jesus. I would make sure to fix it. Can I get a witness?” In the end, Ruby represents Macy Gray at her most passionate, poetic, and powerful.

1 Buddha (feat. Gary Clark Jr.)  
2 Cold World  
3 Over You  
4 White Man  
5 Tell Me  
6 Sugar Daddy  
7 When It Ends  
8 Just Like Jenny  
9 Jealousy  
10 Shinanigins  
11 But He Loves Me  
12 Witness  

More from Macy Gray

Macy Gray: RUBY
Macy Gray
CD Album
Buy Now: Dispatched in 7-10 days